Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What does Evidence-based mean?
The term Evidence-based refers to the use of empirical data and information. Evidence-based practice refers to the use of research findings that are demonstrably effective. Evidence-based publication formats include practice guidelines, meta analyses, systematic reviews, and other kind of publications
There are distinct techniques that will help you find evidence-based scholarship. One way is to search databases that contain only evidence-based information such as guidelines and reviews. Another technique is to conduct searches and then limit to specific publication types that are evidence-based.
Evidence-Based Practice Databases
A collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects)
Contains abstracts of quality assessed and critically appraised systematic reviews. Focuses primarily on systematic reviews that evaluate the effects of health care interventions, and the delivery and organisation of health services.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines, NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Community Health Advisor
Site funded by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation that provides information on the benefits of evidence-based policies and programs.
Features metasearches of evidence-based practice (EBP) databases in the health sciences including DARE, and PubMed as well as EBP journals from 1997 to the present.
SUMSearch is used to find original studies, systematic reviews, and practice guidelines in health and medicine. It searches MEDLINE, DARE, and the National Guidelines Clearinghouse simultaneously.
Evidence-Based in the News