Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Evidence Based Practice Databases
Researchers may also be interested in consulting the State of Oregon's Department of Human Services Addictions and Mental Health Services unit who publish a webpage of approved evidence-based practices and process in compliance with SB 267
Social Work Reference Center
Provides practice-focused information resources for social workers and mental health professionals on a variety of topics, including adolescent health, aging, end-of-life care, clinical social work and diversity. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
California Evidence-Based Clearinghouse for Child Welfare
Maintains a clearinghouse for evidence-based child welfare programs and practices.
Campbell Library of Systematic Reviews
Provides access to systematic reviews, usually international in scope, in education, criminal justice, and social welfare.
SAMHSA Evidence-based Practices Resource Center
Maintains a registry of mental health and substance abuse interventions that have been reviewed and rated by independent reviewers.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines, NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Social Programs that Work
Collection of social program interventions evaluated for effectiveness, sponsored by the Coalition for Evidence-Based Policy
Healthy People 2020
The Healthy People 2020 Initiative from the United States Government maintains a growing list of Evidence-Based Interventions and Practices
Primary Research Article Databases
Maintains citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations in psychology about human behavior from 1879 to the present. Nearly 2500 journals are indexed in PsycINFO, and the database is updated weekly.
PubMed (Interface for MEDLINE)
Provides citations and abstracts for journal articles in all areas of medical practice and research from 1953 to the present.
Search the database most appropriate for your topic for systematic reviews or meta-analyses. If none are found, move to the most appropriate disciplinary database.
Focus on finding original research studies as opposed to literature reviews.
If you are still not finding useful articles, consider that your search may be too narrow. Sometimes you need to find items that are similar enough to your question that you can extrapolate the findings.
- Databases such as PubMed (MEDLINE) and PsycINFO have limits that can be applied for systematic reviews, randomized controlled trials, and qualitative research.
- Adding the term "systematic review" or "meta-analysis" to your search is another strategy for limiting your search.
- Look for research that had a study population similar to your client.
- Look for key indicators of empirical research in the title and abstract, such as references to an experimental group and control ground comparison, or a stated research methodology.