Family and Society: Books & Articles
What is a Scholarly Article?
Academic or scholarly journal articles:
- Written by experts in a particular field
- Written for other experts in that field
- Use expert language, or jargon, specific to that field
- Report on the results of research such as a scientific experiment
- Typically longer
- Very narrow and specific focus
- Give little to no background information
When searching for scholarly articles, match your search terms with the language experts use and be specific with your terms.
Search for Scholarly Articles
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowProvides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
These databases are great places to start your research for scholarly articles!
-
America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowIncludes citations of articles and books on the history and culture of the United States, Mexico, and Canada.
-
ERIC (EBSCO interface) This link opens in a new windowIncludes citations and full-text access to education research found in journals, books, and grey literature.
-
Family Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and abstracts on family studies research, including family therapy, marriage, children, and youth.
-
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowCombines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases. Provides citations to journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, government reports, and working papers as well as theses and dissertations.
-
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIncludes citations of journal articles, dissertations, and conference proceedings focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Finding Recent Articles in the Library Catalog Video
This video demonstrates how to find recent newspaper and peer reviewed articles in the Portland State University Library Catalog.
Finding eBooks
Use the search box on the Ebooks page to quickly find books the Library has available online or use the "ebooks" limit to filter your search results.
