Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Business Open Educational Resources
This page contains suggested textbooks and materials that are openly licensed. It is not intended to be exhaustive, but to highlight relevant materials for faculty to consider adding to their courses.
More information about evaluating OER, including assessment rubrics, can be found on the Use OER tab.
Related Library Subject Guides
The following general subject guides contain library resources freely available to PSU students:
For assistance, contact your PSU Subject Librarian
Business Communication for Success
Business Communication for Success (BCS) provides a comprehensive, integrated approach to the study and application of written and oral business communication to serve both student and professor. Each chapter is self-contained, allowing for mix-and-match flexibility and custom or course-specific design. Each chapter focuses on clear objectives and skill demonstrations that can be easily linked to your syllabus and state or federal requirements. Supported by internal and external assessments, each chapter features time-saving and learning-enhancement support for instructors and students.
Fundamentals of Business
Fundamentals of Business, a full color, 440+ page free online textbook for Virginia Tech’s Foundations of Business course, is an open educational resource, and may be customized and redistributed non-commercially with attribution.
Accounting Principles: A Business Perspective
Accounting Principles: A Business Perspective uses annual reports of real companies to illustrate many of the accounting concepts in use in business today. Gaining an understanding of accounting terminology and concepts, however, is not enough to ensure your success. You also need to be able to find information on the Internet, analyze various business situations, work effectively as a member of a team, and communicate your ideas clearly. This text was developed to help you develop these skills.
Principles of Marketing
Principles of Marketing teaches the experience and process of actually doing marketing—not just the vocabulary. It carries five dominant themes throughout in order to expose students to marketing in today’s environment: Service dominant logic, sustainability, ethics and social responsibility, global coverage, and metrics.
Business Law and the Legal Environment
This textbook provides context and essential concepts across the entire range of legal issues with which managers and business executives must grapple. The text provides the vocabulary and legal acumen necessary for businesspeople to talk in an educated way to their customers, employees, suppliers, government officials—and to their own lawyers.
The following links provide more options for business textbooks:
Business from Khan Academy
Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard.
Business from Open Course Library
The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts.
Business course materials from MIT
Web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content in Business
Business from SUNY
Textbooks and additional course material from the State University of New York
Business from Saylor Academy
Course materials for a wide span of business courses, including Business Law, Accounting, Finance, Marketing, etc.
Business from OpenOregon
Materials from lower level business courses in Oregon
Business from OER Commons
Includes PowerPoints, activities, videos, and more.
Business from Merlot
The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials and learning exercises. The site features a robust filter to enhance searching.
Business from TED
TED will link you with 5-25 min talks on a variety of business topics. You can browse by subject, length, or rating.