Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biology Open Educational Resources
This page contains suggested textbooks and materials that are openly licensed. It is not intended to be exhaustive, but to highlight relevant materials for faculty to consider adding to their courses.
More information about evaluating OER, including assessment rubrics, can be found on the Use OER tab.
Related Library Subject Guides
The following general subject guides contain library resources freely available to PSU students:
For assistance, contact your PSU Subject Librarian
Concepts of Biology
Concepts of Biology is designed for the typical introductory biology course for nonmajors, covering standard scope and sequence requirements. The text includes interesting applications and conveys the major themes of biology, with content that is meaningful and easy to understand. The book is designed to demonstrate biology concepts and to promote scientific literacy.
Biology 2e is designed to cover the scope and sequence requirements of a typical two-semester biology course for science majors. The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens. Biology includes rich features that engage students in scientific inquiry, highlight careers in the biological sciences, and offer everyday applications. The book also includes various types of practice and homework questions that help students understand—and apply—key concepts.
Microbiology covers the scope and sequence requirements for a single-semester microbiology course for non-majors. The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health. The pedagogical features of the text make the material interesting and accessible while maintaining the career-application focus and scientific rigor inherent in the subject matter. Microbiology’s art program enhances students’ understanding of concepts through clear and effective illustrations, diagrams, and photographs.
The following links provide more options for textbooks in the biological sciences:
Biology from Khan Academy
Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard.
Biology from Open Course Library
The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts.
Key biological concepts animated as narrated and stepped tutorials, along with quizzes.
Biology course materials from MIT
Web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content in Biology
Biology from SUNY
Textbooks and additional course material from the State University of New York
The Biology Project
Online interactive resource from the University of Arizona that includes problem sets and tutorials
Biology from Saylor Academy
Course materials for Microbiology and Molecular and Cellular Biology
TED will link you with 5-25 min talks on Biology. You can browse by subject, length, or rating.