Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
EC/EI - Recommended Databases for Journal Articles
ERIC (EBSCO interface)
Indexes education documents (ED), and education journal articles (EJ), from 1966 to the present. Covers all educational levels and aspects of education. Full text journal articles (EJ), and education documents on microfiche (ED 1966-2003), are still available. Click on the information icon regarding the status of full text ERIC documents(ED). Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Education Research Complete
Includes citations and full text articles from education research journals, books, and conference papers. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Maintains citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations in psychology about human behavior from 1879 to the present. Nearly 2500 journals are indexed in PsycINFO, and the database is updated weekly.
Social Services Abstracts
Includes citations of journal articles, dissertations, and conference proceedings focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Google Scholar searches the academic, scholarly Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Searching Google Scholar from the Portland State University Library will identify full text articles available from PSU Library resources as well as open access articles from other universities and colleges.
How to Find Articles
Find it @ PSU
If the article you have found in a database doesn't have the full-text right there, click on the button to see if the article is available in full-text in another database.
If we do have it, it will take you to a page that shows you where it's available
(if you see a Download Article link, you can click to access the electronic copy).
Interlibrary Loan When We Don't Have It
If we don't have a journal article you need for your research in our collection, we can get it for you!
Just request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Please note: it can take 5 days to a week or more to secure an article from another library.
Find a specific article
If you have the citation for a specific article, here are two ways to find it:
1. Go to the PSU Google Scholar (availabe under "Research Tools" on the library homepage).
Type in the article title and see if a link comes up.
If it doesn't try the second way below.
2. Go to the library catalog on the library homepage.
Type the journal title into the search box.
If PSU has the journal it will show up. It may be in print or online, just follow the links.
If we don't have your journal article try interlibrary loan.