CH 339: Organic Chemistry Lab II (chem majors): Resources
Reference Paper
Your reference paper for the lab project is:
Demare, P.; Regla, I. Synthesis of Two Local Anesthetics from Toluene: An Organic Multistep Synthesis in a Project-Oriented Laboratory Course. J. Chem. Educ. [Online} 2012, 89, 147–149. https://pubs.acs.org/doi/abs/10.1021/ed100838a (accessed Apr 30, 2018).
Background Information
Kroschwitz, J. I., Seidel, A., Bickford, M., Eds. Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, 5th ed.; Wiley-Interscience: Hoboken, NJ, 2004–2009. 2nd floor TP9 .K54 2004
This is the standard reference work in Chemistry. This is a great starting place, providing detailed background information and substantial bibliographies.
-
Access Science from McGraw-Hill : the online encyclopedia of science & technologyThe online edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology and the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology. This is a general starting place. It will give you a background on the topic and may point you to prominent individuals and a classic monograph or two.
Bibliographic Databases
-
SciFinderThe most comprehensive database for the field of chemistry This database covers journal articles, conference proceedings, books and patents from 1907 to the present. It is an indexing and abstracting database, and full-text retrieval is dependent on current paid library subscriptions and availability through open access.
-
PubMed (Interface for MEDLINE)Provides citations and abstracts for journal articles in all areas of medical practice and research from 1953 to the present.
-
Dissertations and Masters Theses Global (ProQuest)For dissertations, try Dissertations and Masters Theses. This database covers most dissertations (and a few masters theses) from all North American universities (and a few foreign universities) from 1861 to the present, with most available as PDFs from 1997 to the present.
-
Google ScholarGoogle Scholar takes a familiar tool and applies it to scholarly/academic resources. Available from anywhere and free, it provides an alternative to the expensive and more structured resources. A ‘hit and miss’ resource – it provides access to a variety of materials (journal articles, books, book chapters, conference presentations, etc.) over a wide date range, but primarily focused post-1990. It will sometimes link to full-text sources, but just as often will lead to abstracts or basic citation information or will lead to publisher sites which will require subscriptions or provide pay per view articles. Increasingly, full-text content is linked through here from open access websites such as institutional repositories or researcher web pages. If you are searching while off-campus use the link to this resources from the Library’s home page to ensure access to those electronic journals to which we subscribe.
ACS Style
The American Chemical Society has developed a style guide. The ACS Style Guide is available online.
Williams College has prepared a webpage with a useful summary of ACS style.
-
CAS Source Index Search ToolLook up journal title abbreviations
Related Guides
Your Librarian
Chemical Data
-
Dictionary of Organic CompoundsContains concise chemical, structural, and citations on organic compounds. Data includes formulae, chemical structures, and physical properties.
-
ChemSpiderThis is a free database (and mobile app) from the Royal Society of Chemistry. It was built with the intention of aggregating and indexing chemical structures and their associated information into a single searchable repository and make it available to everybody.
-
PubChemFree database of information on the biological activities of small molecules.