Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General - Data & Statistics
A New Nation Votes
A New Nation Votes is a searchable collection of election returns from the earliest years of American democracy, 1787-1825.
American National Election Studies (ANES)
ANES conducts national surveys of the American electorate in presidential and midterm election years and carries out research on various issues on elections.
Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House Representatives - Election Statistics
This resource posts the official vote counts for presidential electors, U.S. senators, and U.S. Representatives for elections from 1920 to present.
U.S. Census: Voting and Registration
Information on reported voting and registration by various demographic and socioeconomic characteristics is collected for the nation in November of congressional and presidential election years in the Current Population Survey (CPS).
U.S. General Election Exit Polls Series (ICPSR dataset)
The General Election Exit Polls series is conducted by the National Election Pool (NEP) from results obtained from interviews of a sample of voters exiting polling places in individual states in the nation on election day. It provides data on voters' choices in the senate, congressional, and gubernatorial races, and the issues and factors that most influenced those votes, as well as their opinions on presidential candidates, various referendas and propositions on the ballot, and other issues.
Record of American Democracy (ROAD), 1984-1990
ROAD provides precinct-level election data for all federal and state races at and above State House for 1984-1990.
Tracks, aggregates, and analyzes polling data from major political polls. Coverage includes gubernatorial elections.
Five Thirty Eight
Offering statistics on politics (and sports), Five Thirty Eight provides news articles and knowledge at a glance.
Measuring Elections - Dataverse
A collection of readily available datasets from Pew Elections Performance Index and others.
Contains state-level historical data for the areas of agriculture, crime and law enforcement, defense, economy, education, employment and labor, energy and environment, geography, government finances, health, households and housing, population, social welfare as well as transportation. Enter "Voting" as a keyword search.
Provides mapping, data, and analytics tools on U.S. demographics, real estate, health, jobs, education, and more topics. Mapping allows for multiple layers and editable data ranges. Includes Election Atlas data.
Includes State Stats: "State data on social and public affairs topics like health care, crime, education and more. "
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to access current and historical U.S. Census data and demographic information. It contains maps, profile reports, data elements, and variables.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Maintains abstracts and datasets for public opinion survey results from U.S. academic, commercial, and media opinion surveys. Download of datasets from Roper require that users create an account using a PSU email address.
Specialized Presidential Data & Statistics
The American Presidency Project
One of the most comprehensive collection of web resources on the American presidency, including documents, public papers, executive orders, addresses, press conferences, debates, election data, approval ratings, and much more
United States Elections Project
The United States Elections Project strives to provide timely and accurate election statistics, electoral laws, research reports, and other useful information regarding the United States electoral system. The United States Elections Project is maintained by Dr. Michael McDonald.
Counting the Votes
Downloadable data on U.S. Presidential elections from 1789-present.