SPAN 325: Phonetics and Phonology: Getting Started
Course guide for Spanish 325: Phonetics and Phonology. Place and manner of articulation of Spanish sounds as well as the patterns they form as influenced by morphological and syntactic factors.
Getting Started
Overview and Background Resources
What kinds of resources give you an overview of phonetics, phonology or linguistics? Encylcopedias, bibliographies and dictionaries are a great way to start--they give context, history and genre overviews that help you get started. (For the online encyclopedias, click on the "View Online" link. Use your ODIN login/password to access the encyclopedia.)
Here's a few that are available online and searchable.
- Oxford Bibliographies OnlineScholarly bibliographies that provide research guidance in several topical areas, including linguistics. Search for "phonetics", "phonology" or other linguistic concepts and theories for overviews and suggested readings.
- The Routledge Linguistics EncyclopediaCovers the major and subsidiary areas of linguistics and applied linguistics.
- International Encyclopedia of LinguisticsEncompasses the full range of topics in linguistics, including such areas as historical, comparative, functional, and sociolinguistics. Special attention is given to interrelations within these branches of the field and to relations of linguistics with other disciplines
- The Handbook of Hispanic LinguisticsThe Handbook of Hispanic Linguistics brings together a team of renowned Spanish linguistics scholars to explore both applied and theoretical work in this field.
- Handbook of Spanish Second Language AcquisitionThe handbook demonstrates the breadth and depth of recent research on the acquisition of Spanish as a second language and provides insights in to the latest developments in the field.
Subject Headings
Subject headings are useful in finding books and book chapters about your topic. Here's a few to use for Spanish phonology and phonetics:
Need Help? Ask a Librarian
- Contact a librarian 24/7 using our chat services.
- Email questions will receive a response in one business day.
- You can get help in person at the research help desk, 1st floor of the Library these days and times.