Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Due to cost, PSU Library does not provide complete online access to the Oregonian articles published from 1987 to the present.
The oregonlive.com web site provides free access to many Oregonian articles from the last few years, and supports fee-based article delivery of all Oregonian articles ($1.95 per article). The Multnomah County Public Library also provides full text access to the Oregonian. You can get a Multnomah County Library card.
Oregonian -- Historical Backfile 1861-1987
Contains archival, full text articles of the Oregonian from 1861 to 1987, presented in image format as they appeared in the newspaper.
Oregonian Newspaper Index Search (1852-1987)
Indexes citations to Oregonian articles published from 1852 to 1987.
Oregon Newspaper Index
Indexes the Oregonian (Portland, 1852-1987) as well as the University of Oregon student newspaper, The Daily Emerald, and The Register-Guard (Eugene).
America's Historical Newspapers
Consists of searchable digital facsimiles of local newspapers from all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Read eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries, and reviews.
How to Search for News Articles Video
Selected newspapers in the Portland area:
Pacific Northwest-based newspaper features
international and local northwest news and events with an Asian focus.
Local news, politics, and gossip.
Local paper committed to cultural diversity.
Local paper with news, politics, and opinion.
Advancing the Black Press in the Pacific Northwest.
Street Roots — published weekly in Portland, Oregon — has been Portland's flagship publication addressing homelessness and poverty since 1998.
Local news and politics.
Online News Databases
Includes current newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and community publications of the ethnic, minority, and native presses. Includes scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Provides full text in English and Spanish.
This is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals.
U.S. Major Dailies
Provides full text access to: The Chicago Tribune (1985-present), The Los Angeles Times (1985-present), The New York Times (1980-present), The Wall Street Journal (1984-present), and The Washington Post (1987-present). Closed captions are available. Interactive transcripts are available for many, but not all, titles.