ENG 300 Literary Form and Analysis - Hines: Encyclopedias, dictionaries, reference works
Full Text Reference Sources online
-
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowProvides reference, literary timelines, and articles on authors, journalists, and critics from all literary periods. Covers literary genres such as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.
-
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism This link opens in a new windowOffers full text articles on critics, and literary theorists as well as critical and theoretical schools and movements.
-
Literature Online - LION This link opens in a new windowIncludes reference works, biographical sketches, bibliographies, and secondary criticism of British and American literary works. Offers full text of some novels, poems, dramas, and prose.
-
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new windowConsists of summaries of works, Western literary criticism, and literary movements as well as biographical sketches of authors from the classical period to the present.
-
Critical Insights This link opens in a new windowProvides access and searching capability to the Critical Insights book series comprised of classic and current literary criticism.
-
Bloom's Modern Critical ViewsEach volume in this series covers one widely read poet, novelist, or playwright. Each opens with an introductory essay by literary critic Harold Bloom followed by a representative selection of contemporary criticism of the writer. Also included in each volume are bibliographic references, notes on the various contributors, and a useful chronology of the writer's life.
Reference sources in print in PSU Library
-
Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of American Literature
by
Call Number: PS21 .G36 2009 v. 1-4; 2nd floor of the Library -
African-American Writers
by
Call Number: PS153 .N5 A344 1991; 2nd floor of the Library -
African-American Writers: a dictionary
by
Call Number: PS153 .N5 A3444 2000; 2nd floor of the LibraryISBN: 0874369592 -
Women Writers in the United States: a timeline of literary, cultural, and social history
by
Call Number: PS147 .D38 1996; 2nd floor of the LibraryISBN: 0195090535
