WS 377U Feminist Spirituality - The Goddess: Finding Journal Articles
Article Databases
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowContains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years.
-
ProjectMuse This link opens in a new windowIndexes citations for books and articles as wells as full text articles and ebooks from scholarly presses.
While Google Scholar and PSU Library catalog are search engines that will identify journal articles, neither of them is comprehensive in the coverage of any discipline particularly in the humanities and social sciences. Enter the disciplinary database as an important tool in identifying material on your topic. Use the Library list of databases grouped by subject to find a database that covers the discipline you want to find articles from.
Some recommended databases for womens studies and this assignment in particular.
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowIdentifies journal articles, book chapters, dissertations on topics of interest to language and literature scholars
-
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new windowIdentifies articles published in scholarly philosophy and religion journals.
-
Literature Online - LION This link opens in a new windowA full text database of articles, reference works, criticism of literature.
-
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowFull text of >100 reference books published by Oxford University Press.
-
Dissertations and Masters Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowFull text of dissertations from 1997- present; citations and abstracts for dissertations and masters theses from dates earlier than '97. Dissertations can be one of the first places that a topic is treated extensively in a scholarly work.
-
ArtStor This link opens in a new windowDigital library of approximately 700,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching.
-
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowCombines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases. Provides citations to journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, government reports, and working papers as well as theses and dissertations.
Search for an Article Using Google Scholar
Use Google Scholar from the PSU Library, and enter the title of the article. If the Library has the article, there will be a link to the right, Find it @ PSU.
Find it @ PSU leads to the full text article in the PSU Library catalog.
If it is not available full text through Google Scholar, PSU Library could still hold the article in print. Search for the journal to see the Library's holdings. If the library does not hold the journal at all, request it from Interlibrary Loan & Article Delivery.
Get Full Text with Find It @ PSU
If the article citation does not include links to the full text, click on the Find it @ PSU button to check availability. Find it @ PSU is the link to the full text (online or print), that leads to the full text will appear under View Online. If it is not available, there will be an option to request the article from Interlibrary Loan & Article Delivery.
The Peer Review Process Video
3 minute video on the peer review process, created by the North Carolina State University Libraries: http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/tutorials/pr/
Library database search techniques
Most library databases use similar logic for searching.
AND narrows a search by requiring both terms to be present
OR broadens a search by allowing for either term to be present
( ) parenthesis for grouping keywords together e.g. women and (spiritual or religious) brings back results in which the words women and spiritual appear and other results in which the words women and religious appear
* truncation e.g. spirit* will retrieve spiritual, spiritually, spirits, spirituality, etc.
“phrases go in quotes” the search engine retrieves those words next to each other and in exactly the order of the phrase within quotes e.g. “womens spirituality”