Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Maintains citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations in psychology about human behavior from 1879 to the present. Nearly 2500 journals are indexed in PsycINFO, and the database is updated weekly.
Google Scholar searches the academic, scholarly Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Searching Google Scholar from the Portland State University Library will identify full text articles available from PSU Library resources as well as open access articles from other universities and colleges.
Web of Science
Maintains citation searching for high impact research journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences and includes emerging sources citation indexing from 2005-.
Gender Studies Database
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases. Provides citations to journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, government reports, and working papers as well as theses and dissertations. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
LGBT Life with Full Text
Indexes and contains full text of international literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual, transexual, and transgender issues. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Social Services Abstracts
Includes citations of journal articles, dissertations, and conference proceedings focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Offers citations, abstracts, and full text articles in scholarly journals on crime trends, prevention and deterrence, juveniles, police, courts,and sentencing. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
PubMed (Interface for MEDLINE)
Provides citations and abstracts for journal articles in all areas of medical practice and research from 1953 to the present.
ERIC (EBSCO interface)
Indexes education documents (ED), and education journal articles (EJ), from 1966 to the present. Covers all educational levels and aspects of education. Full text journal articles (EJ), and education documents on microfiche (ED 1966-2003), are still available. Click on the information icon regarding the status of full text ERIC documents(ED). Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Features citations to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder and other mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events.
Indexes citations to journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings in the field of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Business Source Premier
Provides full text and citations to articles in various business publications; also includes company profiles, industry profiles, and country information. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Construct your search using the keywords or terms relevant to your topic.
- Quotation marks can be used to search for phrases (e.g. "social cognition")
- Use OR to search both keywords/phrases
- Truncation searches for variants of a word. Use an asterik (*) at the root (e.g. psych* searches for psychology, psychologist, psychological, psychosocial)
The following will search for "Child Development" AND ("Domestic Violence" OR "Family Violence")
After performing your search, you can further limits your results using the "Record Type". Selecting "Peer Reviewed Journal" will update your results to be only research articles from peer reviewed journals.
Find it @ PSU
Our article databases are enabled with a Find It @ PSU green button which connects you from the database you are searching to the holdings of specific articles in our Library.
If the article citation in your search results does not include a link to the full text PDF file, use the green Find It @ PSU button to check online or print availability via the Library catalog.
If the PSU Library does not hold the article online, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan & Article Delivery.