Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Requesting via ILL
If a book or article you need is not available at either PSU or Summit, you can request it (mostly) for free through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). It can take up to 12 days to receive a book through Interlibrary Loan.
Suggested Databases and Online Resources
Online resources for discovering articles and books in literature and the humanities:
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes citations to journal articles, dissertations, and books about world literature, literary criticism, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1921 to the present. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Literature Online - LION
Includes reference works, biographical sketches, bibliographies, and secondary criticism of British and American literary works. Offers full text of some novels, poems, dramas, and prose.
Publishes an online-only, peer-reviewed journal that features survey articles of the most important research and current thinking across the literature discipline.
Literature Resource Center
Provides reference, literary timelines, and articles on authors, journalists, and critics from all literary periods. Covers literary genres such as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Indexes journal citations and other publications covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
Contains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
A leading provider of digital humanities content, Project MUSE provides books and journals from leading university presses.
Romantic Era Redefined
Features the full text of Romantic-era literature focusing on poetry, prose, drama, letters, and diaries along with political, philosophical, scientific, and sociological works between 1800 and 1830.
International Medieval Bibliography
Indexes citations to journal articles and book chapters about the Middle Ages covering Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa from 300 to 1500.
Find citations to academic articles on world history (except the U.S. and Canada), from the 15th century to the present. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
The online bibliography covers literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
Academic Search Premier
Provides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.