Education Topics & Research Overview: Resources for Research Overviews
Why Overviews?
Somtimes you want to survey the literature in a general field of education - maybe to refine a topic, or maybe to learn more about a topic tangentially related to your research.
The online encyclopedias listed below and the print books listed to the right are great places to find overviews of large areas of reserach in education.
Online Reference Sources
These reference works are purchased by the library, but available online.
-
Sage eReferenceContains full text encyclopedias and reference books in the social sciences and humanities. Search by keyword or browse by topic.
-
Research Starters - EducationProvides education topics that include overviews and summaries of issues and subjects addressed in teacher education and school administration. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
-
Sage Research Methods OnlineContains full text, Sage research methods books, handbooks, and encyclopedias. Includes videos and interactive mapping tools.
Books for Research Overviews
-
Handbook of reading research (eBook)Also available in print. Reference Collection -- 2nd floor LB1050 .H278 1984 -
Handbook of research on curriculumCall Number: LB1570 .H264 1992Shelved in reference on the 2nd floor -
Handbook of research on educational administrationCall Number: LB2805 .H2864 1999Shelved on the 3rd floor -
Second handbook of research on mathematics teaching and learning
Call Number: QA11 .S365 2007Shelved on the 5th floor -
Handbook of research on multicultural educationCall Number: LC1099.3 .H35 1995Shelved in reference on the 2nd floor -
Handbook of research on music teaching and learningCall Number: MT1 .H138 1992Shelved on the 3rd floor -
Handbook of research on science teaching and learningCall Number: Q181 .A1 H35 1994Shelved on the 5th floor -
Handbook of research on social studies teaching and learningCall Number: LB1584 .H275 1991Shelved in reference on the 2nd floor -
Handbook of research on teacher educationCall Number: LB1715 .H274 1996Shelved in reference on the 2nd floor -
Handbook of research on teaching the English language arts (2010 ebook, 2003 paper)Also available in print. Reference Collection -- 2nd floor LB1576 .H234 2003 -
The International encyclopedia of educational evaluationCall Number: LB2822.75 .I57 1990Shelved on the 3rd floor -
