Education: Reference Sources
Why Use Reference Sources?
Encyclopedias, subject-specific dictionaries and other reference books provide excellent background/overview information on a topic; they can be an excellent place to begin research.
Online Reference Sources
These reference works are purchased by the library, but available online.
- Sage eReferenceContains full text encyclopedias and reference books in the social sciences and humanities. Search by keyword or browse by topic.
- Sage Research Methods OnlineContains full text, Sage research methods books, handbooks, and encyclopedias. Includes videos and interactive mapping tools.
Subject Specific Dictionaries
Dictionary of Multicultural EducationCall Number: LC1099 .D53 1997
More Reference Sources
Educator's Desk Reference (EDR) : a Sourcebook of Educational Information and ResearchCall Number: LB1028.27.U6 F74 2002one copy shelved in reference on the 2nd floor
circulating copy shelved on the 3rd floor
Knowledge Base for the Beginning TeacherCall Number: LB1025.2 .K615 1989Shelved in reference on the 2nd floor
Encyclopedias
Education And Sociology: An EncyclopediaCall Number: LC189.95 .E38 2002Shelved in reference on the 2nd floor
Encyclopedia of Educational Research v. 1-4Call Number: LB15 .E48 1992Shelved in reference on the 2nd floor
Encyclopedia of Special Education, 4 Volume SetCall Number: LC4007 .E53 2014Shelved in reference on the 2nd floor
Higher Education in the United StatesCall Number: LA225 .H54 2002Shelved in reference on the 2nd floor
Women In Higher Education: An EncyclopediaCall Number: LC1567 .W6486 2002Shelved in reference on the 2nd floor
World Education Encyclopedia: A Survey Of Educational Systems Worldwide v. 1-3Call Number: LB15 .W87 2002Shelved in reference on the 2nd floor
