Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In This Guide
This guide will help you begin your research in music through the library's collections and beyond.
Use the tabs to navigate through the following pages of the guide:
- Find Articles - search for articles online and in print.
- Find Books - find print and eBooks.
- Reference Works - get background information on your topic, identify key authors and works, and more by using bibliographies, subject encyclopedias and biographical sources.
- Primary and Web Sources - find professional organizations, scholarly societies and other quality web resources.
- Citing Sources - information on citation formats, citation management tools and more.
Core Online Resources
These are likely to be the best online sources in which to start your music research.
Fine Arts and Music Collection
Provides full text magazines and scholarly journals in the fine arts and music. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
International Index to Music Periodicals Fulltext
Provides coverage from 1874 to the present of popular and scholarly works in music.
International Index to Performing Arts Fulltext
Provides indexing and full text coverage of performing arts.
Contains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Oxford Music Online
Includes full text of the 29-volume New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Indexes citations and articles for scholarly journals in all areas of music published by Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM). Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Web of Science
Maintains citation searching for high impact research journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences and includes emerging sources citation indexing from 2005.