Criminology & Criminal Justice: Reference Works
Why Reference Works?
Scholarly reference works are useful for the following:
- An overview of a topic
- Topic ideas for a paper topic or narrowing your topic
- Finding keywords for searches
- Bibliographies for further research
Reference works are good starting points for research, but are rarely cited in research as secondary sources.
Search for Reference Sources (PSU Only)
Full-Text Online Reference Databases
- Sage eReferenceContains full text encyclopedias and reference books in the social sciences and humanities. Search by keyword or browse by topic.
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains full text subject encyclopedias, reference works, dictionaries, and handbooks in all disciplines.
- Oxford Handbooks OnlineContains full text Oxford University Press handbooks on topics in the fields of business, management, philosophy, political science, and religion. Handbooks provide overview, background, historical synthesis and reference lists.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (Portland State University Library Content)Features full text scholarly encyclopedias and reference works. This expanded collection of the Oregon Gale Virtual Statewide Reference Library includes Portland State University purchased titles.
Dictionaries
The American Dictionary of Criminal Justice by Call Number: HV7411 .C48 2005 -- 2nd Floor ReferenceISBN: 9781931719339Publication Date: 2004-09-01
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment (ebook) by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781849725880Publication Date: 2010-01-20
Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement (ebook) by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781452265322Publication Date: 2004-12-15
The U.S. Justice System (ebook) by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781598843057Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Encyclopedia of Crime and JusticeCall Number: HV6017 .E52 2002 -- 2nd Floor ReferenceISBN: 9780028653198Publication Date: 2001-10-15- Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Criminology & Criminal JusticeCall Number: online
Handbooks
Handbook of Restorative Justice by Call Number: HV8688 .H36 2008 -- 3rd FloorISBN: 9780415447249Publication Date: 2008-01-30- The Oxford handbook of juvenile crime and juvenile justice (ebook) by Call Number: onlineISBN: 0199940770Publication Date: 2012
The Routledge handbook of international crime and justice studies (ebook) by ISBN: 9781136868504Publication Date: 2013
The Handbook of Criminological Theory (ebook) by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781118512326Publication Date: 2015-08-25
