Political Science: Reference Works
Why Reference Works?
Scholarly reference works are useful for the following:
- An overview of a topic
- Topic ideas for a paper topic or narrowing your topic
- Finding keywords for searches
- Bibliographies for further research
Reference works are good starting points for research, but are rarely cited in research as secondary sources.
Search for Reference Sources (PSU Only)
Full-Text Online Reference Databases
- Sage eReferenceContains full text encyclopedias and reference books in the social sciences and humanities. Search by keyword or browse by topic.
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains full text subject encyclopedias, reference works, dictionaries, and handbooks in all disciplines.
- Oxford Handbooks OnlineContains full text Oxford University Press handbooks on topics in the fields of business, management, philosophy, political science, and religion. Handbooks provide overview, background, historical synthesis and reference lists.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (Portland State University Library Content)Features full text scholarly encyclopedias and reference works. This expanded collection of the Oregon Gale Virtual Statewide Reference Library includes Portland State University purchased titles.
Core Reference Books
- CQ Press Political Reference SuiteContains full text encyclopedias, directories, handbooks, and guides in political science.
- CQ Researcher
This link opens in a new window
Offers reports on key issues in the U.S.Congress from 1923 to the present. Includes a searchable archive by keyword, date, or subject.
Reference Works
The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History (ebook) by Publication Date: 2009-11-09
Wiley-Blackwell encyclopedia of social and political movements (ebook) by Publication Date: 2014
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Islamic Political Thought by Call Number: JC49 .P75 2013 -- 2nd Floor ReferenceISBN: 9780691134840Publication Date: 2012-11-11
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Political and Legal History (ebook) by ISBN: 9780199754618Publication Date: 2012-04-17
Polling America by Call Number: HN90.P8 P645 2005 -- 2nd Floor ReferenceISBN: 9780313327018Publication Date: 2005-06-01
