EC 316U Introduction to Health Care Economics: Searching for Topics
Sources for Inspiration
-
NBER Economics of HealthStudies "the economic determinants of health, the operation of health care markets, and the financing of health care with particular emphasis on public and private insurance. Core topics of interest include the determinants of "health capital" and the consequences of unhealthy behaviors such as substance abuse, the role of market failure in health care and health insurance markets, and the impact of public policies on health care delivery, expenditures, financing, and innovation."
-
IZA Discussion Paper Series"The IZA Discussion Paper Series (ISSN: 2365-9793) disseminates high-quality research by IZA network members to the scientific community and the interested public worldwide before they are later published in academic journals. Comprising over 13,000 papers, IZA's publication flagship is the most influential working paper series in labor economics."
-
EconLit This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and abstracts of international journals, books, dissertations, and working papers on economics.
-
NBER Working Paper Series This link opens in a new windowFeatures full text, working papers by the National Bureau of Economics Research programs.
-
Dissertations and Masters Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowMaintains citations, abstracts, and full text of dissertations from 1997 to the present along with citations and abstracts for selected masters theses from 1962 to the present. Includes subject, title, and author indexing to U.S. dissertations from 1861 to the present.
How to Develop a Good Research Topic
Brainstorming Keywords for Your Topic Video
This quick video explains how to turn your topic into keywords while searching for library resources and sources on the Web.
Topic Development Video
This video will help you find a topic that's not too broad, not too narrow, but just right.
Narrow Down a Topic in EconLit
If you have a broad topic, but are not sure how to narrow the focus, you can use databases (such as EconLit) to further limit your research focus.
For example, pay attention to the "subjects" listing. This will display all the sub-topics being examined within your search results and provides a sense of what topics scholars are examining.
1) Begin with a search in EconLit. Do a broad search: e.g., you are interested in health economics and technology. Enter the keywords then click on All filters:
2) After you click on All filters, a pop up window will show up on the right. You will see the different options to narrow down results. Scroll down to Subject to find popular subjects related to your keywords:
3) Check the subjects you are interested in, also check Peer Reviewed if needed, then click Apply. Now you see a far small set of results.
