ENG 497 Comics History: Newspapers & Databases

Historic newspaper resources for students in ENG 497 Comics History

Welcome to the Library

Here's a starting list of resources for students in ENG 497. If you need help with these or other resources, please ask a librarian.

Use these resources to find comics in historic newspapers. The words funny or funnies are good search terms to find old comics.

Oregonian -- Historical Backfile 1861-2018
Contains archival, full text articles of the Oregonian from 1861 to 2018, presented in image format as they appeared in the newspaper.
Chronicling America
Archives US newspapers from 1836 to 1922. Maintains a directory of US newspapers from 1690 to the present.
America's Historical Newspapers
Consists of searchable digital facsimiles of local newspapers from all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Read eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries, and reviews.

Use these resources to find scholarship and analysis of comics.

MLA International Bibliography
Indexes citations to journal articles, dissertations, and books about world literature, literary criticism, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1921 to the present.
ProQuest One Literature
Comprehensive collection of literary works for multiple cultures and ethnicities. Includes extensive literary criticism and significant literary journals. Includes the database previously known as Literature Online (LION) as well as the International Index of Black Periodicals (IIBP).