ME 491/492/493 BSME Senior Capstone Sequence: Find Articles
Get Full Text with Find It @ PSU
If the article citation does not include links to the full text, click on the Find it @ PSU button to check availability. Find it @ PSU is the link to the full text (online or print), that leads to the full text will appear under View Online. If it is not available, there will be an option to request the article from Interlibrary Loan & Article Delivery.
Core Online Library Resources
These are likely to be the best online sources in which to start your research.
- InspecIndexes records of international scientific and technical articles in the fields of computer science, electrical engineering, and physics.
- Google Scholar
This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches the academic, scholarly Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Searching Google Scholar from the Portland State University Library will identify full text articles available from PSU Library resources as well as open access articles from other universities and colleges.
- American Society of Mechanical Engineers Digital CollectionASME’s authoritative, online reference of current and archival literature. It provides unparalleled depth, breadth, and quality of peer-reviewed content including journals, conference proceedings and ASME Press books.
- ACS Web EditionsMaintains the peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences from the American Chemical Society (ACS), including journals in materials science and engineering.
- Web of ScienceMaintains citation searching for high impact research journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences and includes emerging sources citation indexing from 2005.
- Compendex (Historical)Historical access to citations and abstracts for engineering and the applied sciences from 1884-1969.
- Civil Engineering DatabaseProvides indexing for the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) content.
Professional Organizations:
Related Resources
- MathSciNetThis is the primary index to literature to mathematics and statistics. It is an excellent source of articles on fluid mechanics.
- ScienceDirectIncludes full text of articles published in Elsevier journals covering agriculture, humanities, genetics, biology, business, accounting, chemistry, engineering, computer sciences, earth and planetary sciences, economics, materials science, medicine, neuroscience, physics, psychology, and other social sciences. Also includes access to selected 2006 imprints of Elsevier ebooks.
Journal Title Search
Find a Specific Article
If you have an article citation, see whether or not the PSU Library holds the full text or print article:
1. Use Google Scholar from the PSU Library web site, enter the title of the article in the search box.
2. If the article is available in full text or print, click on Find it @ PSU.
3. The Download Article link provides the full text article, the journal level for it, or the call number for the article in print.
If PSU Library does not have the article in full text or in print, order the article from Interlibrary Loan & Article Delivery.
Scholarly, Professional, Popular?
When you have a research assignment , note what types of articles are required evidence for your thesis or question. Some professors require you to use only scholarly peer-reviewed journals while others might allow professional or trade journals and newspapers.
Scholarly article - Peer-reviewed or scholarly articles are written by an expert or scholar in the field and reviewed by peers who are experts in the same subject.
Professional/trade article - Trade or professional journals have articles written by experts in the field or by staff writers. The articles are reviewed by the editor. The articlesusually do not include reference lists.
Popular journals - Popular journals or magazines are written for a general audience rather than for professionals or scholars. Examples include the New Yorker, National Geographic, and the Rolling Stone.