Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the PSU Library Catalog for Newspaper Articles
Start your search for news articles at the PSU Library catalog. Type your keywords into the search box on the Library homepage and run the search. Limit your search results by selecting Newspaper Articles under Resource Type. Limit your search by refining Date to the last five to ten years to review the most current research on your topic.
Be sure to Sign In in order to add relevant articles to My Favorites for easy access.
How to Search for News Articles Video
Online access to Oregon papers
Sponsored by the Oregonian Media Group, this site offers free access to some of the current content of the Oregonian newspaper.
Oregonian -- Digital Archive
This new digital archive begins January 1, 2019 and will grow going forward (there is a 90 day embargo from publication date). Archival issues prior to 2019 are available on microfilm.
Oregonian -- Historical Backfile 1861-1987
Contains archival, full text articles of the Oregonian from 1861 to 1987, presented in image format as they appeared in the newspaper.
Salem Statesmans Journal
Web site of the Statesmans Journal provides selected content.
Eugene Register Guard
Register Guard's free website offering selected news coverage. Also offers fee-based article delivery of Register Guard articles from 2001 to the present.
Online News Databases
Includes current newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and community publications of the ethnic, minority, and native presses. Includes scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Provides full text in English and Spanish.
This is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals.
U.S. Major Dailies
Provides full text access to: The Chicago Tribune (1985-present), The Los Angeles Times (1985-present), The New York Times (1980-present), The Wall Street Journal (1984-present), and The Washington Post (1987-present). Closed captions are available. Interactive transcripts are available for many, but not all, titles.