Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Starting Your Research
Here are some resources you can use to explore your topic. The reference books focus on biographical information. And the databases are good places to look for research written by or about the scientists or topics you're researching.
Databases to Explore
Contains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
General Science Fulltext
Provides full text articles covering science related topics and subjects. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Web of Science
Maintains citation searching for high impact research journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences and includes emerging sources citation indexing from 2005.
Google Scholar searches the academic, scholarly Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Searching Google Scholar from the Portland State University Library will identify full text articles available from PSU Library resources as well as open access articles from other universities and colleges.
Use the main search on the library website to search a range of resources.