LING 453-001 - Graduate Research & Writing - Cesar: Scholarly Articles

Search the PSU Library Catalog for Scholarly Articles

Start your search for scholarly articles at the PSU Library catalog. Type your keywords into the search box on the Library homepage and run the search. Limit your search results by selecting Peer Reviewed Journals under Availability. Limit your search to the last five to ten years to review the most current research on your topic. Pertinent articles may include links to Similar Articles!

Be sure to Sign In in order to add relevant articles to My Favorites for easy access.

Identify Peer Reviewed Journals

Ulrichs International Periodicals Directory
Features bibliographic, access, and pricing information for newspapers, magazines, and journals published in the United States and internationally. Distinguishes peer reviewed and refereed journals from popular magazines.

Search for Scholarly Articles

Start your research at Academic Search Premier, a multidisciplinary database.

Business Source Premier
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text and citations to articles in various business publications; also includes company profiles, industry profiles, and country information.
Inspec
Indexes records of international scientific and technical articles in the fields of computer science, electrical engineering, and physics.
Lexis Nexis (now Nexis Uni)
Includes full text sources for regional, national, and international newspapers as well as business, legal, and medical publications, and also, government documents.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Indexes journal citations and other publications covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
Urban Studies Abstracts
Provides indexing and abstracts for urban affairs, community development, and urban history.

Finding Recent Articles in the Library Catalog Video

This video demonstrates how to find recent newspaper and peer reviewed articles in the Portland State University Library Catalog.

Search for an Article with a Citation Video

Three Paths to Scholarly Articles

You can use any or all of the tools below to search for articles.

	Library Catalog: search box on the library homepage	Specific Subject Database	Google Scholar: search from the PSU Library website
Strengths	Covers articles from hundreds of scholarly journals, and newspapers; Searches over 400 databases at once, so article can be available in more than one database; Can see immediately whether one article is available in full text, or if not, request via Interlibrary Loan directly; For retrieval options anytime, anywhere, you need to sign in with your Odin account.	Has a more focused scope like economics or history; Better interface with more search options/limiters and discipline-specific subject keywords; You just need to sign in with your Odin account to access anytime, anywhere.	Journals from a wide range of subjects, including ones that are not indexed in the catalog; The Google search engine; Includes "Cited by" for articles; Access to open access articles with links.
Weaknesses	You need to know to lock the filters in order to change your keywords; Not all PSU full text journals are indexed here; May produce too many results; Must sign in first to see the full results and request options.	Missing journals in subject from other databases; May need to use Find it @ PSU to check for full text status; May have to order from Interlibrary loan through the Library website.	Lack of sophisticated search options/limiters May produce too many results; Must use Find it @ PSU to locate full text.
Best For	If you already have a citation (or at least the title of the article); if you are exploring a topic (especially an interdisciplinary one) and not sure where to start or what keyword(s) to use.	If you need to do subject-specific or advanced searches using various options/limiters.	If you already have a citation (or at least the title of the article); If you are exploring a topic ( an interdisciplinary one) and not sure where to start or what keyword(s) to use.