COMM 322 - Mass Communication and Society: Articles & Databases

Get Full Text with Find It @ PSU

If the article citation does not include links to the full text, click on the Find it @ PSU  button to check availability. Find it @ PSU is the link to the full text (online or print), that leads  to the full text will appear under View Online. If it is not available, there will be an option to request the article from Interlibrary Loan & Article Delivery.

Find it at P S U button

Core Databases for Articles

Since Communication can be interdisciplinary, you may need to search databases in other subjects, such as sociology, business, political science, etc.

Related Databases

Google Scholar

Google Scholar has been customized by the PSU library to find some full-text articles at PSU !

Google Scholar can be extremely helpful in finding out how many times an article has been cited and who cited an article. This can help you determine how important an article is and which other authors you may want to investigate.

Make sure you're checking your discipline's databases as well, for fuller, more complete scholarly coverage of the journal articles on your topic. 

The Peer Review Process Video

Link to video about peer review process

3 minute video on the peer review process, created by the North Carolina State University Libraries: http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/tutorials/pr/

Search Articles and Get Full Text from the Library Catalog

You can search the PSU Library Catalog for the full text of articles. Type or copy and paste the article title into the search box.

Look for the correct article from your search results. You will see you will see either a green "Online Access" link or a blue "Find & Request" link. 

  • The green "Online Access" link means that full text access to the article is immediately available.
  • The blue "Find & Request" link means that PSU does not have access to the article, but you can request it through Interlibrary Loan & Article Delivery.

For articles with a green "Online Access" link, click the link, then follow the provider link to the full text. 

Sometimes there are multiple links; they all should take you to the article, but if one doesn't work, try another.

library catalog article search

 

 

article online access in the catalog