Services for Distance Students - 30 Miles away or more....

If you are a current PSU student, faculty, or staff member living more than 30 miles from the University, you are eligible for distance services. 

The Distance Users web page provides detailed information about accessing books and print articles and how to have them delivered to your home address. From the PSU Library home page, look under Help & Services for a section called For You.

Find a Book on the Shelf

When you search for a relevant print book, look for PSU Library Shelves. Note the call number and floor to locate it yourself, or sign in and request it using the link Request from PSU Library.

Write down the floor, entire call number, the last name of the first author as well as the beginning of the title. Books are organized by subject, so you will find other books on the same topic in the same area. The Library of Congress classification system is an alpha-numeric system that starts with A in the basement and ends with Z on the 5th floor. 

Watch this video, Find a Book at the Library using Library of Congress Call Numbers.

Get a Book that is Checked Out

Place a Hold at PSU

Holds, Request from the PSU Library link, can be placed on resources that are available at PSU Library. Your item will be available at the Circulation Desk in about 24 hours. You will receive an email from the PSU Library.

You can  also place a Request from PSU for items that are checked out. The resource will be recalled, and this process usually takes longer than requesting from Summit Libraries. This image shows the Request from PSU Library link in a record.

Request Items from Summit Libraries

If a PSU Library book is checked out, get the book within five business days by requesting it from Summit Libraries. Books from Summit can be checked out for 6 weeks with no renewals. You will receive an email from the PSU Library.

This image shows an item that can be requested from the Summit Libraries.

Check Out and Renew Library Resources

Check Out Items

When you want to check out library resources, simply bring the item(s) you would like to check out to the 1st floor Circulation Desk. You will need your current PSU ID or a photo ID to check out items. For more details on loan periods and other policies, visit Requesting & Borrowing Materials. If you live more than 30 miles from campus, you can have items mailed to your home address. Visit the Distance Users page for more information. 

Renew Items

You can renew your items by signing in to My Accounts with your ODIN username and password.

Get an Item from PSU Library Offsite

See if the Item is Located Offsite

The PSU Library holds some items off Campus. These items show up as Available at Portland State Library Offsite, such as this journal.

Request an Item from Library Offsite

An item that is available at Library Offsite can be requested for checkout after you sign in to the Catalog. Go to Find & Request and select the option to Request from PSU Library. This retrieval service takes one business day, and you will be notified via your PSU email when the item is available.

PSU Library eBooks Only

PSU Library has a growing collection of eBooks. PSU students, staff and faculty can access them online from most devices. eBooks are not shared between Summit Libraries. If an eBook is unavailable at the PSU Library, check the Library Catalog to find out whether the same title is available in print.

Search for eBooks by choosing eBooks under Resource Type to limit your results.

Sign In Help

Odin Login

Most PSU Library resources require an Odin account  for access off Campus. Odin accounts are given to current PSU students, faculty, and staff. If you forget your password, go to the webpage, Resetting Your Odin Password.

​Sign in to the PSU Library Catalog with your Odin account for request options and to access online content, such as articles, eBooks and streaming videos.

Unique Database Logins

Some library databases offer personal accounts in order to save search strategies, articles, or books. These accounts require a unique login and password separate from your Odin account.

Report Errors and Make Suggestions

If you need help with research, Ask a Librarian.

If you have a problem accessing an online resource, use the Report Error form.

To leave a comment or suggestion about our services, please use this Suggestions Form.

Services for Alumni and Community 

The Portland State University Library welcomes alumni and community members to use our Library for research. Visit the Welcome Alumni & Community Members web page to find out about benefits, including check out privileges.

Articles & Books Not Available at PSU Library

Requesting Articles

If you cannot find the article that you need at the PSU Library, you can order it through Interlibrary Loan & Article Delivery (ILL). This service is available without cost to current PSU students, faculty, and staff. Interlibrary Loan takes about 2 to 3 business days for articles. When your article is available online, you will receive a PSU email.

Requesting Books and Print Items

If you need a book that the PSU Library does not hold, use Summit Libraries or Interlibrary Loan to request it. Summit requests come from our partner academic libraries in Oregon, Washington, and Idaho and take 3 to 5 business days. ILL requests can take 12 days or more. When your item is available, you will receive a PSU email.

Find Course Reserves

If you need to access an article or course reading that your professor placed on eReserve or Course Reserve, follow these steps:

On the PSU Library homepage, click Course Reserves next to the catalog search box. You can search by instructor's last name, course number, or department. If the reserve item is a book, write down the call number and check out the book from the 1st floor Circulation Desk. 

You can also access course reserves directly from your D2L course home page. Go to the Library Resources box, then select Course Reserves for your class. The image below shows how to request course reserves in D2L for BA 301.

Use Find It @ PSU to Access a Full Text Article

If the article citation does not include links to the full text, select the Find it @ PSU link or button to check availability. Find it @ PSU searches the PSU Library for the item. You can then find out if the PSU Library has the item online or in print.

This image shows the Find It @ PSU button for an article citation in a database.

This image shows an article citation and Find it @ PSU link in Google Scholar.

When Find It @ PSU Does Not Work

If you need to find an article, the Find It @ PSU button,    will help you find it in our online or print collections. If the Find It @ PSU link does not work, try these options:

• Check to see whether the article has been posted online via Google Scholar.
• Search for the article title in the PSU Library catalog for print or online holdings.
• If the library does not hold the article online or in print, order it from Interlibrary Loan & Article Delivery. Do not pay for articles!
• If you cannot get access to a full text article, report it using the Error Report form. 

If you need research help, Ask a Librarian!

Watch this video to learn about Searching for a Known Article.

Troubleshoot Printing

Print from a Lab Computer

For complete instructions, go to the webpage, Print, Scan, Copy, at the PSU Library.

Print from a Personal Laptop or Community Access Computer

If you are using a personal laptop or computer that is not connected to a printer, you will need to use the University's Web Print system to print your document. For complete instructions, go to the webpage, WiFi & Web-based Printing, at the PSU Library.