Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Services for Spring Term 2021
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Excellent resource for communication theories and research.
Provides abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from global titles pertaining to many fields of communication studies. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Maintains abstracts and datasets for public opinion survey results from U.S. academic, commercial, and media opinion surveys. Download of datasets from Roper require that users create an account using a PSU email address.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Maintains controversial contemporary topic summaries and overviews of current issues that include aspects of the issues along with pro and con arguments and opinions. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Includes full text sources for regional, national, and international newspapers as well as business, legal, and medical publications, and also, government documents.
Offers reports on key issues in the U.S.Congress from 1923 to the present. Includes a searchable archive by keyword, date, or subject.
Contains full text scholarly and peer-reviewed articles covering all areas of law. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Presents images and information for advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines from 1911 to 1955. Focuses on these subject areas: radio, television, transportation, beauty & hygiene, and World War II.
New York Times Historical File (1851-2013)
Archives the New York Times from 1851 to 2013 with full page images and articles.
America's Historical Newspapers
Consists of searchable digital facsimiles of local newspapers from all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Read eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries, and reviews.
America: History and Life
Includes citations of articles and books on the history and culture of the United States, Mexico, and Canada. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Historical Statistics of the United States - Millennial Edition
Consists of U.S. demographic and economic statistics from colonial times to the present.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
Includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps, and other materials in the history of science, technology, and medicine. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Academic Search Premier
Provides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Google Scholar searches the academic, scholarly Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Searching Google Scholar from the Portland State University Library will identify full text articles available from PSU Library resources as well as open access articles from other universities and colleges.
Includes current newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and community publications of the ethnic, minority, and native presses. Includes scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Provides full text in English and Spanish.
Web of Science
Maintains citation searching for high impact research journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences and includes emerging sources citation indexing from 2005.
If you need to find articles on a particular topic and you don't know which articles exist, use an article search engine to identify the articles. (See the Search Strategy page for more on this skill.) Multidisciplinary databases (e.g. Academic Search Premiere and the PSU Library front page search link to articles on a wide variety of topics. However, these databases may not be as focused as one of the subject databases whose coverage is directed at a particular discipline (i.e. business, or political science or sociology, etc.) Once you've identified articles you are interested in, click the icon next to the article citation to navigate to the article full text.
If you already have a citation to a journal article, follow the steps in the Known Article boxes (below right) to navigate to the full text.
Search Articles and Get Full Text from the Library Catalog
You can search the PSU Library Catalog for the full text of articles. Type or copy and paste the article title into the search box.
Look for the correct article from your search results. You will see you will see either a green "Online Access" link or a blue "Find & Request" link.
- The green "Online Access" link means that full text access to the article is immediately available.
- The blue "Find & Request" link means that PSU does not have access to the article, but you can request it through Interlibrary Loan & Article Delivery.
For articles with a green "Online Access" link, click the link, then follow the provider link to the full text.
Sometimes there are multiple links; they all should take you to the article, but if one doesn't work, try another.