Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why Use News?
Newspapers are excellent sources of information. Newspapers report about what is going on in our local communities, our states, our nation, and the world. Use a newspaper to:
- Find information about very recent events
- Locate in-depth coverage of regional/national/global issues
- Read about multiple perspectives surrounding an issue
- Examine issues in the context of the time they took place; see how people viewed an event when it happened
- Give a snapshot of a time period detailing how people lived (what they ate, what they purchased, etc)
Caution: Always evaluate what you find! The Evaluation tab at the top gives tips to help you critically evaluate the information you find.
Find Newspaper Articles
Daily newspaper based in Portland, Oregon, covering issues from all over the state of Oregon.
Portland Business Journal
Provides access to Portland Business Journal and Book of Lists. Also includes other city business journals.
National and Global Newspapers:
U.S. Major Dailies
Provides full text access to: The Chicago Tribune (1985-present), The Los Angeles Times (1985-present), The New York Times (1980-present), The Wall Street Journal (1984-present), and The Washington Post (1987-present). Closed captions are available. Interactive transcripts are available for many, but not all, titles.
Wall Street Journal
Offers full text articles in The Wall Street Journal (Eastern edition, 1984-present) and the online edition (2010-present ), excluding stock quotes and classified ads. Updated daily.
New York Times
Provides full access to the New York Times from 1980 to present.
Includes current newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and community publications of the ethnic, minority, and native presses. Includes scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Provides full text in English and Spanish.
World News Connection
An archive of international news translated into English. It includes foreign newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts and datelines from 130 countries.