Latin American Studies: Welcome
Library Services
The Library is open for PSU students, faculty, and staff to access the stacks, study spaces, computer labs, and Learning Center appointments. Your PSU ID card is required to enter the building.
The Circulation Desk is open for checking out course reserves, laptops, and other equipment, as well as library materials.
Get help right away via Ask a Librarian
Researching Latin American Studies
Latin Studies is an interdisciplinary field, and, depending on your research topic, it can be difficult to know where to start. This research guide offers an overview of key resources for Latin Studies. If you have questions, please stop by the Reference Desk on the second floor of the Library.
The following library databases are good starting points to find books and articles on a range of topics in Latin American Studies. Try combining two different keywords in a search, as in these examples:
- Brazil and immigration
- Mexico City and art
- Guatemala and language
- HLAS (Handbook of Latin American Studies) OnlineThe Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook.
- LANIC: Latin American Network Information CenterMaintained by the Latin American Network Information Center at the University of Texas-Austin. Includes the web sites of governmental institutions, statistical data, bibliographies and informative articles. Can be searched by country or by subject.
- The BiblioNoticias SeriesA series of bibliographies related to Latin American studies compiled by the staff of the Benson Latin American Collection at the University of Texas at Austin.
- PSU WorldCat LocalFind books and some articles in PSU WorldCat.
- Academic Search PremierProvides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Fuente AcademicaCovers Spanish language scholarly, academic journals. Offers full text, multidisciplinary content.
- JSTORContains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Encyclopedias are a great place to start your research. They'll give you important background information and refer you to essential resources for more information.
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains full text subject encyclopedias, reference works, dictionaries, and handbooks in all disciplines.
Subject Guide
Credits
This guide was created with the considerable help of Allen Hauser.