Maps and Other Cartographic Information   Tags: documents, oregon, science, united states  

This guide will help you find maps and other geographic materials at the library
Last Updated: Oct 15, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.pdx.edu/maps Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Related Guides

Geography
by Beth Pickard - Last Updated Oct 13, 2014
Guide for Library Research in Geography
300 views this year
Geology
by Beth Pickard - Last Updated Oct 13, 2014
Guide for Library Research in Geology
302 views this year
Government Information
by Claudia Weston - Last Updated Oct 13, 2014
487 views this year
 

Map Collection At Portland State University

The Map Collection is located in the southeast corner of the 4th floor of the Branford Price Millar Library. It is a working collection consisting of atlases, topographic maps, aeronautical and nautical charts, geological maps, thematic maps, and travel maps of the World and the United States.

Federal Depository Program

As a federal selective depository library, Portland State maintains a complete collection of current maps produced by:

Also housed in the map room are lesser collections produced by or for

 

Circulation Policy

  • Most materials in the Map Room circulate with a few exceptions.
  • OVERSIZE atlases are non-circulating as are any items marked "Reference". Reference materials include map catalogs, indexes, guides, and particular atlases.
  • Additionally, maps marked "historic", and some other special maps, do not circulate.
 

Collection Development Policy

The federal depository collection is supplemented by gifts and purchases. Geographical priorities for acquisition/collection development are:

  1. Portland and adjacent counties
    All scales and subjects, including atlases, gazetteers, and ephemeral travel materials, pre-1900 maps and facsimiles.
  2. Oregon
    All scales and subjects, including atlases, gazetteers, and ephemeral travel materials, pre-1900 maps and facsimiles.
  3. Pacific Northwest, including Idaho
    All subjects and selected scales, including atlases, gazetteers, and ephemeral travel materials.
  4. United States
    Thematic maps of the United States as a whole; sectional maps; atlases and gazetteers; regional and state-wide maps, with priority given to the western states and areas of special interest.
  5. Canada and Mexico
    Thematic maps; atlases and gazetteers; regional maps of scale 1:250,000. Maps of province-wide scope. Larger scales as budget allows.
  6. World, with emphasis on Pacific Rim countries
    Thematic maps, atlases and gazetteers of the world and of major ocean basins. Also continents and individual countries as a whole, including regions of special significance.
 

Maps In the News > Library of Congress

 

Looking for Maps? Ask Us!

If you need assistance locating or using the maps and atlases in the Map Collection, go to:

  • The Reference Desk on the second floor
  • Claudia Weston in Room 140 on the 1st floor (westonc@pdx.edu; (503) 725-4542)
  • Bertrand Robinson in Room 488 on the 4th floor (brobins@pdx.edu).

For more information, try the Geology and Geography guides: