Computer Science: Home

Resources in computer science

In This Guide

This guide will help you begin your research in Computer Science through the libraries' collections and beyond.

Use the tabs above to navigate through the following pages of the guide:

Find Articles - search for articles online and in print. Recommends the best resources for finding Computer Science articles.
Reports & Dissertations - find technical reports, government reports, books, dissertations and theses.
Conference Proceedings - find conference proceedings and options for getting the materials and information on citation formats, citation management tools and more
Organizations & Web Sources - find professional organizations, scholarly societies and other quality web resources.

Image courtesy of the National Center for Computational Sciences, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

These are likely to be the best online sources in which to start your research.

Inspec
Citations and abstracts in computer science, electrical engineering and physics.
IEEE Xplore
Indexes full text IEEE and IET journals, conference proceedings, and standards.
ACM Digital Library
An index to the computer science literature, also includes full-text of ACM documents.
CiteSeer
Search engine for freely available full-text online articles on computer and information science.
arXiv
Provides open access to e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics.

dblp computer science bibliography
Open index to computer science journals and proceedings

MathSciNet
Index to the mathematical literature back to 1940. Particularly useful for CS literature from the 40s and 50s.
Compendex (Historical)
Index to articles in engineering and applied sciences (including computer engineering and computer science) from 1884 to 1969.
SciTech Connect
Offers free, publicly-available,Department of Energy (DOE) sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, and data information.

Web of Science
Maintains citation searching for high impact research journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences and includes emerging sources citation indexing from 2005.
Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches the academic, scholarly Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Searching Google Scholar from the Portland State University Library will identify full text articles available from PSU Library resources as well as open access articles from other universities and colleges.