Music: Primary and Web Sources
Primary Sources
- Portland State Library Special CollectionsSpecial Collections is home to over 5,500 rare, unique or historically significant items dating from the 15th century to the present and encompassing a broad range of formats including books, journals, manuscripts, papers and records, photographs, maps, comic books, audio-visual material, realia and ephemera.
Video Resources
- Medici.tvA video classical music concert service, Medici.tv offers streaming programs from Video on Demand. Offers filmed concerts, an archive of movies on dance and opera, documentaries on performers and composers as well as educational programs and master classes. Presents free live concerts, operas, and ballets that are available for a limited time. Subtitles are available for some titles.
Organizations
Portland Art Museum: Crumpacker Family Library at the Portland Art Museum, the region’s most comprehensive visual art resource open to students, researchers, docents, staff, and the public. Noncirculating collection.
- American Federation of MusiciansThe largest organization in the world representing the interests of professional musicians.
- American Musicological SocietyThe American Musicological Society was founded in 1934 to advance research in the various fields of music as a branch of learning and scholarship.
- Chorus AmericaChorus America's mission is to build a dynamic and inclusive choral community so that more people are transformed by the beauty and power of choral singing.
- Conductors' GuildThe Conductors Guild is the only music service organization devoted exclusively to the advancement of the art of conducting and to serving the artistic and professional needs of conductors.
- Oregon Arts CommissionThe OAC was established in 1967 to foster the arts in Oregon and ensure their excellence.
- Society for Music TheoryThe Society for Music Theory (SMT) promotes music theory as both a scholarly and a pedagogical discipline.
- Society of Composers, Inc.SCI is an independent organization concerned with the fellowship, collaboration, career goals, and objectives of new and contemporary music composers and those interested in topics related to composition.
Sound Recordings (CDs)
Sound Recordings (CDs)
Portland State University Library Catalog: Search the PSU Library Catalog for information about books, journals, videos, government documents, and other materials owned by the Library. You may search by keywords, author, title, or subject headings.
Call Number = MUSIC CD (with numerals following)
Primary Locations =
1st floor Circulation Desk for CDs;
The call number for a compact disc usually consists of the prefix "MUSIC CD" plus the identifying number for the particular recording.
Please stop by the Circulation Desk for assistance in finding the CD's you need for listening or checking out. To play CDs or DVDs, you can use any of the 118 computer workstations located in the First Floor OIT Computer Lab and the Second Floor Library Research Center. You can either check out headphones at the Circulation Desk or bring your own headphones to listen at these computer workstations.
Try also these online music collections:
- Music Online: ListeningMaintains a comprehensive online collections of multiple music genres and recordings by renowned artists, performances, and record labels. Closed captions are not available.
- Naxos Music LibraryContains CDs and tracks of music reflecting the standard as well as specialized repertoire. Music is available from leading independent labels. Includes opera synopses and libretti as well as composer and artist biographies. Subtitles are available for some titles.
- Medici.tvA video classical music concert service, Medici.tv offers streaming programs from Video on Demand. Offers filmed concerts, an archive of movies on dance and opera, documentaries on performers and composers as well as educational programs and master classes. Presents free live concerts, operas, and ballets that are available for a limited time. Subtitles are available for some titles.
Web Resources
- All Classical PortlandAll Classical is Portland, Oregon’s classical radio station. Established in 1983, the stations of All Classical Portland rebroadcast the KQAC signal from Portland.
- allmusic.comOriginally known as All Music Guide, AMG was founded in 1991 to help consumers navigate the increasingly complex world of recorded music and discover the very best recordings. Covers all genres of music.
- Arts Journal: the daily digest of arts and cultural journalismProvocative, entertaining, constantly updated news stories about what's going on in the arts.
- Center for Beethoven StudiesThe only institution in North America devoted solely to the life, works, and accomplishments of Ludwig van Beethoven. Housed at San Jose State University, the center is the largest collection of Beethoven materials outside of Europe.
- Charts All Over the WorldWhat's popular in every country, current and historical, brought to you by the Latvian Academic Network.
- Classical Music on the WebThis supersite contains an annotated list of classical-music-related sites under many headings, including: Sound files and Internet radio; Compact discs; Film, video, and film music; Composers, conductors, performers; Opera, theatre, and song; Symphonic and band music; Musical instruments; and jazz.
- Classical NetThe Internet's Premier Classical Music Source, Classical Net features more than 9000 pages and 20,000+ images including more than 6000 CD, SACD, DVD, Blu-ray and Book reviews and over 5500 links to other classical music web sites.
- IMSLP/Petrucci Music Library: Free Public Domain Sheet MusicSharing the world's public domain music. IMSLP stands for International Music Score Library Project. The logo is a capital letter A, taken from the very first press-printed book of polyphonic music, the Harmonice Musices Odhecaton, published in 1501. Its printer, Ottaviano Petrucci, is this library's namesake.
- The Juilliard Manuscript CollectionA very cool online classical collection of "138 music autograph manuscripts, sketches, engravers' proofs, and first editions, which were donated to the Juilliard School in 2006."
- Musical GeographyWhat can maps tell us about music history?
- National JukeboxHistorical Recordings from the Library of Congress.
- New York PhilharmonicListen to radio broadcasts; watch videos about music, musicians and composers; find resources for music education, and more
- The New York Philharmonic Digital ArchivesPrograms, scores, parts, images and business documents from the orchestra's archives whose first concert took place in 1842.
- Public Domain Music ScoresCompiled by the Music Library at MIT.