Mathematics and Statistics: Find Books and Reference Material
Resources for mathematics and statistics
Requesting Books from Other Libraries
If the item you’re looking for isn’t available at the PSU Library, you might see a Request from Other Libraries option that will allow you to request a physical copy or, if it's a book, a PDF of an individual chapter.
- First, sign in to the catalog to enable the request function;
- If the item is not available from our library, you can click the Request button for the physical copy or chapter PDF under Request from Other Libraries;
- The system will automatically prioritize fastest delivery;
- When your request has been filled, you will be notified by PSU email.
Online Reference and eBooks
- Encyclopedia of MathematicsThe Encyclopedia of Mathematics wiki is an open access resource designed specifically for the mathematics community. A good source that's kept up-to-date.
- MathWorldExtensive free mathematical resource, provided by Wolfram Research.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2023
PSU Library Catalog - Books
Results include both print books and ebooks, available from Portland State Library and other libraries.
Call Numbers
Browsing the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood" in the library stacks.
QA 152.2 Algebra (elementary)
QA 154.2 Algebra (advanced)
QA 303 Calculus & Pre-Calculus
QA 445 Geometry
QA 184 Linear & Multilinear Algebra
QA 273 & QA 276.12 Statistics
Print Reference Books
The Concise Encyclopedia of Statistics by Call Number: 2nd Floor Reference: HA17 .D63 2008Publication Date: 2008This concise one-volume encyclopedia of statistics will be an essential reference for statisticians in all areas.
Oxford Users' Guide to Mathematics by Call Number: 2nd Floor Reference: QA40 .T4813 2004Publication Date: 2004
Handbook of Applicable Mathematics by Call Number: Reference Collection -- 2nd floor ; QA36 .H366 Volumes: v. 1. Algebra.--v. 2. Probability.--v. 3. Numerical methods.--v. 4. Analysis.--v. 5, pt. A-B. Combinatorics and geometry. --v. 6, pt. A-B. Statistics
Encyclopaedia of Mathematics by Call Number: Reference Collection -- 2nd floor ; QA5 .M3713 198810 Volumes, Encyclopaedia of mathematics: an updated and annotated translation of the Soviet "Mathematical encyclopaedia"
