WS 412/512 Feminist Methodologies: Finding Articles
Library guide for the Women and Gender Studies course, Feminist Methodologies
Core Databases
- Gender Studies DatabaseCombines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases. Provides citations to journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, government reports, and working papers as well as theses and dissertations.
- LGBT Life with Full TextIndexes and contains full text of international literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual, transexual, and transgender issues.
- Sociological AbstractsIndexes citations to journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings in the field of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Independent VoicesThis is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals.
- Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. JacobsIncludes digitized books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights in the US, Europe, and around the world. Materials date from 1534 to 1945, with especially strong coverage of the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000, Scholar's EditionMaintains primary source documents and historical interpretations focusing on women in American social movements.
- Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries from the American Antiquarian SocietyContains the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts.
- Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic CulturesRepresenting a collaboration of international scholars, the Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures crosses history, geographic borders, and disciplines to create a reference work that reflects the current research on gender studies and the Islamic world.
- Black Thought and CultureIncludes nonfiction works by major American black leaders and writers as well as the Black Panther newspaper.
- Family Studies Abstracts
This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts on family studies research, including family therapy, marriage, children, and youth. - Civil Rights in America: From Reconstruction to the Great SocietyProvides an archive of official publications and primary source material related to civil rights in the United States.
Related Disciplinary and Interdisciplinary Databases
- Ethnic NewswatchIncludes current newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and community publications of the ethnic, minority, and native presses. Includes scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Provides full text in English and Spanish.
- America: History and LifeIncludes citations of articles and books on the history and culture of the United States, Mexico, and Canada.
- Sociological AbstractsIndexes citations to journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings in the field of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service)Covers public affairs, public and social policy, and international relations. Includes national and international journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, microfiche, and pertinent web sites.
- PDXScholarPortland State University's Digital Repository, PDXScholar, preserves the University's research, unique resources, and other scholarly output with the goal of providing persistent, access to that work.
- Web of ScienceMaintains citation searching for high impact research journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences and includes emerging sources citation indexing from 2005.
High Impact Journals
This list of highly ranked women gender and sexuality studies journals is here as a quick guide to important journals in the field. Browsing particular journals can be a good way of getting a quick overview or keeping up in a particular area. HOWEVER, if you are looking for articles on a particular topic, it is far more efficient to search the women gender and sexuality studies article databases.