UNST Work of Art - Newlands & Swinehart: Background Information
Background Information Video
This three-minute video shows how to find background information
Online Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- The Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT)The AAT is a structured vocabulary of around 125,000 terms, scope notes, and other information for describing fine art, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, and material culture. (Copyright held by the J. Paul Getty Trust)
- Oxford Art OnlineIncludes full text of the Grove 34-volume encyclopedia, The Dictionary of Art, which contains scholarly articles on the visual arts from prehistory to the present day.
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains full text subject encyclopedias, reference works, dictionaries, and handbooks in all disciplines.
Subject Encyclopedias
Scholarly subject encyclopedias provide background information about specific topics. Entries or articles, written by scholars or subject experts, include bibliographies or suggested readings that will lead to more information on your topic.
You can use subject encyclopedias to identify keywords for your research in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
CQ Researcher
- CQ Researcher
This link opens in a new window
Offers reports on key issues in the U.S.Congress from 1923 to the present. Includes a searchable archive by keyword, date, or subject.
Very Short Introductions - Oxford University Press
- Very Short IntroductionsProvides concise introductions on a diverse range of topics in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Selected Online Scholarly Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Ecology by Publication Date: 2018
Encyclopedia of race, ethnicity, and society by Publication Date: 2008
International encyclopedia of geography by Publication Date: 2017
Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy by Publication Date: 2001 - present
The Sage encyclopedia of political behavior by Publication Date: 2017
