Open Educational Resources (OERs): Use Library Resources

Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research materials in any medium that reside in the public domain or have been released under an open license that permits their free use and re-purposing by others.

About Using Library Resources

PSU Library subscribes to a wealth of materials you may wish to incorporate into your course assignments. Students can access these resources at no cost. While not technically Open Educational Resources, they do help to curb the cost of purchasing expensive textbooks. The Library provides details about identifying persistent links to articles to provide authenticated access to library licensed content.

If the desired content is part of the Library's print holdings, an article or book chapter can be scanned and made available through the Library's e-reserves system. Search the library catalog to ensure we have the article, chapter, etc. and place it on e-reserve.

PSU-Licensed Video

Academic Video Online
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive collection of academic streaming media videos from multiple subject areas.
Docuseek2 Collection
Provides access to academic or scholarly documentaries, social issues films, and videos. Closed captions and/or subtitles available for many, but not all, titles.
Ethnographic Video Online
Provides videos on the visual study of human culture and behavior. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries produced by leading video producers in anthropology. Closed captions and/or interactive transcripts are available for many, but not all, titles.
Films On Demand
Streaming videos in the humanities & social sciences, business & economics, science & mathematics, health & medicine, technical education, family & consumer sciences, careers & job searching, and guidance & counseling. Closed captions and/or interactive transcripts are available for many titles.

Other Streaming Film & Music at PSU
PSU Library purchases or subscribes to streaming media and audio from several vendors, and each platform varies. Search the PSU Library catalog for streaming film and audio available at PSU Library.

PSU-Licensed Images and Media

American West
Contains manuscripts, books, maps, photos, and other materials focusing on the American West.
ArtStor
The ARTstor Digital Library, a non-profit resource, consists of images in art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
Berg Fashion Library
Provides text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history.

PSU-Licensed eBooks and Media in the Catalog

PSU Library subscribes to a wealth of online materials you may wish to incorporate into your course assignments. When you search the Library catalog you can filter your results for eBooks, eAudio, and eVideo.

You can also browse the eBook collections the Library holds.

PSU-Licensed Audio

Music Online: Listening
A comprehensive online collection of jazz recordings by renowned artists, performances, and record labels. Closed captions are not available.
Naxos Music Library
Contains CDs and tracks of music reflecting the standard as well as specialized repertoire. Music is available from leading independent labels. Includes opera synopses and libretti as well as composer and artist biographies. Subtitles are available for some titles.