Skip to main content

SOC 337U: Sociology of Race and Ethnicity: Sociological Abstracts

Core Sociology Database

Sociological Abstracts Search Tips

  • Quotation marks searches the database for those words together as a term
  • An asterisk (*) searches the database for that word plus any variants of the root word.
  • Use the OR search fields to search for synonyms
  • Use the limits to filter for a particular source type, such as "scholarly journals".

tips for searching sociological abstracts

Get Full Text

Once you've identified an article in a database and you want to the full text, click on the green Find It @ PSU button to see if the article is available from journals in the Library (electronic and print). If you see a Download Article link, you can click to access the electronic copy.

If there is no Download Article link, check for print holdings. If the article is not available from our library electronically or in print, you can request the article using Interlibrary Loan.

Revising your Search

When starting out on your search, it's important to review your results and identify ways that you could improve upon your search. Revising your search may include: 

  • if you are getting too many results, identify a more specific aspect of your topic that interests you, and use this more specific term in your new search
  • if you are getting too few results, you might need to broaden your search terms. 

Another way to revise your search is to utilize the language of the database. Subject headings are terms assigned to each citation in the database to capture what it's about, no matter what particular words the author might have use. For example, the article: 

"NEIGHBORHOOD NETWORKS, SOCIAL CAPITAL, AND POLITICAL PARTICIPATION: THE RELATIONSHIPS REVISITED" has the following subject headings assigned: 

*Neighborhoods;
*Low Income Groups;
*Political Action;
*Political Participation;
*Segregation;
*Neighbors;
*Working Class;
*Urban Population;
*Citizens
 
In order to find more articles similar to this one, you can revise your search using the subject headings that of most interest to you.