Skip to main content

UNST 254M & 254G Popular Culture - Batchelder: Find Secondary Sources (Annotated Bibliography)

Search the PSU Library Catalog for Articles

Start your search for scholarly articles at the PSU Library catalog by selecting the Resource Type, Articles or Newspaper Articles or Peer Reviewed Journals (just search one type of article at a time). Limit your search to the last five to ten years to see the most current research on your topic. Be sure to Sign In so that you can add relevant articles to your eShelf for easy access. Pertinent articles may include a Similar Articles tab where you will find six to eight articles like the one that you are interested in.

Disciplinary Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

Constructing a Search

In a scholarly databases, you'll want to build a search with the primary components of your topic, including synonyms and related terms as needed. 

  • Use AND to find items with both (or all) or the search terms. 
  • Use OR to find either of the terms in that field

screenshot of search fields

Research 101: Searching is Strategic

The Searching is Strategic video (2014) was created by Anna Eisen from the University Libraries, University of Washington.

Find it @ PSU

Our article databases are enabled with a Find It @ PSU green button which connects you from the database you are searching to the holdings of specific articles in our Library.

If the article citation in your search results does not include a link to the full text PDF file, use the green Find It @ PSU button to check online or print availability via the Library catalog.

If the PSU Library does not hold the article online, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan & Article Delivery.

screenshot of Find it @ PSU link

 

 

screenshot of full text article link

Have a Citation and Want the Full Text?

You can search the PSU Library Catalog for the full text of articles. Type or copy and paste the article title into the search box.

Look for the correct article from your search results. You will see you will see either a green "Online Access" link or an orange "Find & Request" link. 

  • The green "Online Access" link means that full text access to the article is immediately available.
  • The orange "Find & Request" link means that PSU does not have access to the article, but you can request it through Interlibrary Loan & Article Delivery.

For articles with a green "Online Access" link, click the link, then follow the provider link to the full text. 

Sometimes there are multiple links; they all should take you to the article, but if one doesn't work, try another.

screenshot of library home page search box with article title entered

 

 

screenshot of article access links