WR 301 Critical Writing in English - Lincoln: Biographical sources
Resources for biography on literary figures
- Literature Online - LIONIncludes reference works, biographical sketches, bibliographies, and secondary criticism of British and American literary works. Offers full text of some novels, poems, dramas, and prose.
- Literature Resource CenterProvides reference, literary timelines, and articles on authors, journalists, and critics from all literary periods. Covers literary genres such as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.
- Dictionary of Literary BiographyFull text biographies and critical overviews of writers from all eras and all genres; organized by individual volumes dedicated to specific literary types or time periods.
Author Biography
Full length monographs on an author may be found in library catalogs. Use the author's name and dates as a subject heading search, e.g.
Coetzee, J. M., 1940-
Miller, Arthur, 1915-2005.
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616
Woolf, Virginia, 1882-1941
Atwood, Margaret, 1939-
Reference sources will include shorter biographies, and will often provide recommended full length works.
- Literature Online - LIONIncludes reference works, biographical sketches, bibliographies, and secondary criticism of British and American literary works. Offers full text of some novels, poems, dramas, and prose.
- Literature Criticism OnlineConsists of summaries of works, Western literary criticism, and literary movements as well as biographical sketches of authors from the classical period to the present.
- Literature Resource CenterProvides reference, literary timelines, and articles on authors, journalists, and critics from all literary periods. Covers literary genres such as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.