Justice: Books & eBooks
What is a subject heading?
Subject headings are a formalized way of of searching library catalogs. The right subect heading can help you get to information more quickly.
For example, restorative justice can be described using the following terms:
- restorative justice
- alternative justice
- community justice
You could search the library catalog for all those keywords. Or, use one subject heading to find all of the library's materials about restorative justice:
Restorative justice
Who determines subject headings? The Library of Congress. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the Reference Desk.
Selected Books
Criminal and Social Justice (ebook) by Call Number: onlineISBN: 0761940103Publication Date: 2006-04-06
The Sparking Discipline of Criminology by Call Number: HV6028 .S63 2011 -- 3rd FloorISBN: 9789058678836Publication Date: 2012-02-29
Perceptions of Female Offenders (ebook) by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781461458708Publication Date: 2012-12-06
Browse for Books
Sometimes browsing the library stacks can help you find books you didn't even know you were looking for. The following are good areas to peruse.
- BF: Psychology
- HB, HC: Economic theory and conditions
- HM: Sociology
- HT, JF: Public administration
- HV: Criminology and criminal justice
- JK: US politics and government
- KF: US law
- KFO: Oregon law
Maps of the library are available at the 2nd floor Reference Desk, elevator lobbies, and also online.
eBook Collections
For a comprehensive list of ebook packages, please visit the Databases and Articles page to sort library resources by ebook format. The following are recommended for starters.
- ProjectMuseIndexes citations for books and articles as wells as full text articles and ebooks from scholarly presses.
- Business Expert Press Digital LibraryCollects applied, concise ebooks on a wide range of business topics including management, accounting, supply chain, international business, and entrepreneurship.
- Sage Research Methods OnlineContains full text, Sage research methods books, handbooks, and encyclopedias. Includes videos and interactive mapping tools.
- Taylor and Francis ebooksProvides full text access to Taylor and Francis selected ebooks as well as ebooks from Routledge.
PSU Library Catalog - Book Search
Results include both print books and ebooks, available from Portland State Library and other libraries.
Find Books by Subject
After you execute a search in the Portland State Library catalog, click on the "books" facet to limit your search results to only books. Click on "eBooks" to limit your results to eBooks.
After you find a useful book, look under the "Details" tab of the book's catalog entry at "Subjects." Here you'll find a list of related subjects that you might consider adding to your search. You can also click on a subject link in the record, e.g. clicking on "Community health services" would bring up a list of all the Library's books, journals, etc. on that topic.
To modify your search to include a subject, use the advanced search. The advanced search allows you to type in your desired subject and be sure to specify your search field as "in subject."
Useful Subjects
| Capital Punishment | Criminal Justice, Administration of | Criminal Law | Criminal Liability |
| Criminal Procedure | Discrimination in criminal justice administration | Due process of Law | Jurisprudence |
| Justice, Administration of | Juvenile Courts | Juvenile Delinquents | Juvenile Justice, Administration of |
| Reparation (Criminal Justice) | Restorative Justice | Sentences (Criminal Procedure) | Sociological Jurisprudence |
| United States. Supreme Court |
Finding eBooks
Use the search box on the Ebooks page to quickly find books the Library has available online.
