Ancient History: Secondary Sources
Articles in Library Databases
- Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)Indexes citations to articles from scholarly social science and humanities journals from 1907 to 1984.
- JSTORContains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years.
- ProjectMuseIndexes citations for books and articles as wells as full text articles and ebooks from scholarly presses.
- Web of ScienceMaintains citation searching for high impact research journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences and includes emerging sources citation indexing from 2005.
- L'Annee PhilologiqueThe online database of the bibliography published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, L'Annee Philologique indexes scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations.
History Books
Books (also called monographs) are essential to historians. Books can be written by one person or include a series of essays by several historians. One strategy to find books on your topic is to use a keyword search to find relevant subjects. For example, I searched the keyword phrase medieval social history in the Portland State Library Catalog. The second result seemed very relevant, a book called Economic and Social History of Medieval Europe. In the Details, I looked at the subject headings listed. Clicking on a subject heading will get me quickly to many more books on the same topic.
General Online Sources
- Google Scholar
This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches the academic, scholarly Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Searching Google Scholar from the Portland State University Library will identify full text articles available from PSU Library resources as well as open access articles from other universities and colleges.
Web resources
- TOCS-IN – Bibliographic DatabaseTOCS-IN provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a Web search program. Where possible, links are given with articles of which the full text or an abstract is available online (about 15%).
- AWOL - The Ancient World OnlineThe primary focus of the project is notice and comment on open access material relating to the ancient world