COMM 300 - Principles of Communication: Articles & Databases

The library guide supporting the Communication 300 Class: Principles of Communication

Get Full Text with Find It @ PSU

If the article citation does not include links to the full text, click on the Find it @ PSU button to check availability. Find it @ PSU is the link to the full text (online or print), that leads to the full text will appear under View Online. If it is not available, there will be an option to request the article from Interlibrary Loan & Article Delivery.

Core Databases for Articles

Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from global titles pertaining to many fields of communication studies.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Includes scholarly bibliographies that provide research guidance in several topical areas. Our current subscriptions cover the classics, Jewish studies, Islamic studies, Latino studies, medieval studies, the renaissance and the reformation, British and Irish literature, childhood studies, Chinese studies, cinema and media studies, American literature, education, communication, linguistics, philosophy, public health, and international relations.

Since Communication can be interdisciplinary, you may need to search databases in other subjects, such as sociology, business, political science, etc.

PsycINFO
Maintains citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations in psychology about human behavior from 1879 to the present. Nearly 2500 journals are indexed in PsycINFO, and the database is updated weekly.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Indexes journal citations and other publications covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
Business Source Premier
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text and citations to articles in various business publications; also includes company profiles, industry profiles, and country information.

Related Databases

Gender Studies Database
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases. Provides citations to journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, government reports, and working papers as well as theses and dissertations.
Sociological Abstracts
Indexes citations to journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings in the field of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Business Source Premier
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text and citations to articles in various business publications; also includes company profiles, industry profiles, and country information.
Annual Review of Psychology
Collects full text, research reviews of current and emerging topics within psychology.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Indexes articles related to political institutions, international law and politics, public policy, public administration, political theory, and political economics. Indexes sources from 1975 to the present.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier
Provides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches the academic, scholarly Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Searching Google Scholar from the Portland State University Library will identify full text articles available from PSU Library resources as well as open access articles from other universities and colleges.
Ethnic Newswatch
Includes current newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and community publications of the ethnic, minority, and native presses. Includes scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Provides full text in English and Spanish.
Web of Science
Maintains citation searching for high impact research journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences and includes emerging sources citation indexing from 2005.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar has been customized by the PSU library to find some full-text articles at PSU !

Link to the PSU Google Scholar from this page http://library.pdx.edu/research/

Google Scholar can be extremely helpful in finding out how many times an article has been cited and who cited an article. This can help you determine how important an article is and which other authors you may want to investigate.

Make sure you're checking your discipline's databases as well, for fuller, more complete scholarly coverage of the journal articles on your topic.

The Peer Review Process Video

3 minute video on the peer review process, created by the North Carolina State University Libraries: http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/tutorials/pr/

Search for Known Article Title in the PSU Library Catalog

You can search the PSU Library Catalog for the full text of articles. Type or copy and paste the article title into the search box.

Look for the correct article from your search results. You will see you will see either a green "Online Access" link or a blue "Find & Request" link.

The "Online Access" link means that full text access to the article is immediately available.
The "Find & Request" link means that PSU does not have access to the article, but you can request it through Interlibrary Loan & Article Delivery.

For articles with a "Online Access" link, click the link, then follow the provider link to the full text.

Sometimes there are multiple links; they all should take you to the article, but if one doesn't work, try another.