Skip to main content

UNST 421 Grant Writing: Finding Funding

National Funding Sources

Non-Oregon/SW Washington Funders that Give to Oregon and Washington

The funders on this list gave at least $500,000 to organizations in Oregon and Washington in the past 10 years, are located outside of Oregon or metro Portland, and accept applications.

State/Local Funding Sources

This only reflects a small number of funding options from state and local government and select foundations. Use the Foundation Directory Online to find funders who match your specific criteria.

The Foundation Directory is Your New Best Friend

Published by The Foundation Center, FD Online is the most comprehensive database for finding foundation support. FDOnline includes records for 77,000 grantmakers and over 380,000 grants. It is updated weekly. 

You can access the Foundation Directory Online from the PSU Library or the Multnomah County Central Library (only within each building):

1. Visit the PSU Library and ask for a librarian at the Reference Desk on the second floor to log you into the Foundation Directory Online. If a Reference Librarian is not available, you can ask at the first floor circulation desk, but make sure to tell them that the login information is in the Reference Knowledgebase (some student workers may not be aware of this resource).

2. Visit the Multnomah County Central Library. You can use the Foundation Directory from computers located in the Central Library.  

Click here to access information on how to use the Foundation Directory to find funders who meet your specific geographical criteria and subject focus.

 

Print Directories in the Library

The most current editions of the local and national print Foundation Directories can be found on the second floor of the library on a shelf just behind the reference desk.