Skip to main content

UNST 421 Grant Writing: Using the Foundation Directory

Video from the Foundation Center

These videos (from other libraries) review a few basic steps in using the Foundation Directory Online.

Search Grantmakers

Search for Specific Funder

Searching for Grantmakers

If you are searching for grantmakers who fund in specific areas of the country, specific activities (such as seed money, continuing services, and program development), or specific areas of interest (such as animal welfare, transportation, child abuse and healthcare), click on the Search Grantmakers tab at the top of the Foundation Directory Online.

If you are only looking for grantmkers who accept applications, be sure to check the box at the bottom that says Exclude grantmakers not accepting applications.

There  a detailed Search Tips Guide from the Foundation Directory..

Information about Individual Grantmakers

Once you've searched under Search Grantmakers, you'll get a list of possible funders. When you click on one, you'll get a lot of detail about the organization. This page will give you an idea about how well the organization matches your needs. Click on Map Grants to see geographically where the bulk of their money has been given. Click on Chart Grants to see how much they've given organized by field of interest. That way, you can see if they give a lot of money to Oregon and if they give a lot of money to your specific field of interest. You can even see a sample of their recent grants and who the recipients were, and under the Search Grants tab, you can actually search to find the specific grants they've given in a certain topic area.

Using the Foundation Directory Online

The Foundation Directory is not available from outside of the Library. Here are two possible ways to access it:

1. Visit the PSU Library and ask for a librarian at the Reference Desk on the second floor to log you into the Foundation Directory Online. If a Reference Librarian is not available, you can ask at the first floor circulation desk, but make sure to tell them that the login information is in the Reference Knowledgebase (some student workers may not be aware of this resource).

2. Visit the Multnomah County Central Library. You can use the Foundation Directory from computers located in the Central Library.  

Print Directories in the Library

The most current editions of the local and national print Foundation Directories can be found on the second floor of the library on a shelf just behind the reference desk.