WR 323 Writing as Critical Inquiry: Background Information
Resources and strategies to complete Research Sources Assignment.
Encyclopedias, Handbooks, Dictionaries
Below are listed some standard, general (useful for almost any topic) reference sources. The subject research guides will also list important references works in their specific subject area.
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains full text subject encyclopedias, reference works, dictionaries, and handbooks in all disciplines.
- Sage eReferenceContains full text encyclopedias and reference books in the social sciences and humanities. Search by keyword or browse by topic.
- Access Science from McGraw-Hill : the online encyclopedia of science & technologyContains the full text of McGraw Hill's Encyclopedia of Science and Technology as well as Science News from 2000 to the present.
- Europa World and/or the Regional Surveys of the WorldCovers political and economic information about countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
- Historical Statistics of the United States - Millennial EditionConsists of U.S. demographic and economic statistics from colonial times to the present.
Online Subject Encyclopedias
Scholarly subject encyclopedias provide background information about specific topics. Entries or articles, written by scholars or subject experts, include bibliographies or suggested readings that will lead to more information on your topic.
You can use subject encyclopedias to identify keywords for your research in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.