Art + Design: Find Articles
Core Online Resources
These are likely to be the best online sources in which to start your research.
- Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts - AATA OnlineConsists of abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage.
- Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)Provides citations to articles and reproductions from Art Index, 1929-1984. Covers all forms of art from antiquity to the twentieth century.
- ARTbibliographies ModernProvides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews of modern and contemporary art from the late 19th century to the present.
- ArtStorThe ARTstor Digital Library, a non-profit resource, consists of images in art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
- Arts and Humanities FulltextProvides full text journal access to content in the arts and humanities.
- Bibliography of the History of ArtProvides abstracts for articles and books on European and American art from late antiquity to the present.
- Design and Applied Arts IndexProvides indexing for design and applied arts literature, reviews, and news from 1973 to the present.
- Gale OneFile Fine ArtsProvides full text magazines and scholarly journals in the fine arts and music.
Related Resources
While not specifically art resources, depending on your topic, these could be excellent sources.
- Ad*AccessPresents images and information for advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines from 1911 to 1955. Focuses on these subject areas: radio, television, transportation, beauty & hygiene, and World War II.
- Avery Index to Architectural PeriodicalsIndexes articles about architecture, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation.
- Digital ScriptoriumArchives images of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research.
Multidisciplinary Resources
- Academic Search PremierProvides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesProvides access to Asian-related humanities and social science research.
- Dissertations and Masters Theses Global (ProQuest)Maintains citations, abstracts, and full text of dissertations from 1997 to the present along with citations and abstracts for selected masters theses from 1962 to the present. Includes subject, title, and author indexing to U.S. dissertations from 1861 to the present.
- International Medieval BibliographyIndexes citations to journal articles and book chapters about the Middle Ages covering Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa from 300 to 1500.
- ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and RenaissanceThe online bibliography covers literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
- JSTORContains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years.
- Nexis Uni
This link opens in a new window
Includes full text sources for regional, national, and international newspapers as well as business, legal, and medical publications, and also, government documents.
Journal Title Search
Searching for a Known Article Video: PSU Library Catalog
Find a Specific Article
If you have an article citation, see whether or not the PSU Library holds the full text or print article:
1. Use Google Scholar from the PSU Library web site, enter the title of the article in the search box.
2. If the article is available in full text or print, click on Find it @ PSU.
3. The Download Article link provides the full text article, the journal level for it, or the call number for the article in print.
If PSU Library does not have the article in full text or in print, order the article from Interlibrary Loan & Article Delivery.
Scholarly, Professional, Popular?
The first thing you should do when you have a research assignment is figure out what types of article sources are required or allowed. Some professors require you to use only scholarly peer-reviewed journals while others might let you use professional journals (also known as trade journals.
Scholarly article - written by an expert in the field and reviewed by peers who are experts in the same area. In many databases, you can limit your search to scholarly, peer-reviewed or refereed journals to weed out any non-scholarly content.
Professional/trade article - Trade or professional journals can have articles written by experts in the field or by staff writers. The articles are only reviewed by editors for style, so they go through a less rigorous review process. The articles often do not contain reference lists.
Popular journals - Written for a general audience rather than for professionals or scholars. Examples include The New Yorker, People, and Rolling Stone.