Skip to main content

Black Studies: Background Info

An overview of resources at PSU Library for researching Black Studies, with an emphasis on African American Studies.

Why Encyclopedias?

Focused, academic encyclopedias, like the ones listed on this page, are a great place to start a research project. Encyclopedia entries offer excellent background information for any topic as well as suggestions of articles and books to consult. PSU Library has many print and electronic encyclopedias. Please ask a librarian if you need help finding a good one to use.

Group of African Americans in the Reading Room at the YMCA.

The Reading Room at the YMCA in La Boca, Texas, circa early 1900s, from the Jesse Alexander Photograph Collection at the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, New York Public Library

Print Encyclopedias

These print encyclopedias are available on the second floor of the library, near the Reference Desk. 

Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American experience
DT14 .A37435 2005 | 2nd Floor

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895: From the Colonial Period to the Age of Frederick Douglass
E185 .E545 2006 | 2nd Floor

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History: The Black Experience in the Americas
E185 .E54 2006 | 2nd Floor

Encyclopedia of Black Studies
E185 .E554 2005 | 2nd Floor

Encyclopedia of African American Society
E185 .E546 2005 | 2nd Floor

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Folklore
GR111.A47 G74 2006 | 2nd Floor