Skip to main content

Public Speaking & Rhetoric: Find Articles

Find it @ PSU

If the article you have found in a database doesn't have the full-text right there, click on the button to see if the article is available in full-text in another database. If we do have it, it will take you to a page that shows you where it's available (if you see a Download Article link, you can click to access the electronic copy).

Journal Title Search

Finding Articles

Articles are helpful for researching speeches, but keep in mind most articles (particularly academic articles) are not designed to give an overview of a topic. Most articles examine a particular aspect of a topic or issue, such as the effect reduced manufacturing in Asia and its impact on global warming, versus the topic of global warming in general.  For short overviews on a topic, try using encyclopedias and dictionaries, both online and in print.  PSU Library has a variety of specialized encyclopedias, from music to gun control in print or online.

Need peer-reviewed articles but not sure what they are?  Find out via the library's video guide to peer-reviewed journal articles!

Finding Articles for a Persuasive Speech

When searching for articles to support a persuasive speech, try adding the keywords

  • editorial
  • opinion
  • view
  • poll

to your search (e.g., "Obama" and "opinion").

Finding Articles in Portland State WorldCat

You may have tried locating articles from the search box on the library home page.  The resource you are searching is Portland State WorldCat catalog, a "next-generation catalog, and includes books, selected articles, and other items from Portland State, libraries in the Pacific Northwest (Summit system) and worldwide".   For help in locating articles in PSU WorldCat, visit the PSU WorldCat search help page.

Citing Your Articles in a Bibliography

Please review the section "Citing Sources" tab for more information about building a bibliography on your topic.

Having Difficulty?  Please visit the Reference Desk on the 2nd Floor of the library, or contact us via phone or chat.

Core Online Resources

Related Resources

Multidisciplinary Resources

Find a Specific Article

If you have the citation for a specific article, here is how you can figure out if PSU has the article and (if we do) get to it in full-text:

  1. In the Journal Title Search box above this, do a search for the title of the journal (not the article title).
  2. You'll then be taken into the catalog which will either display your title or will display a page that says Your entry ___ would be here. If you get that message, make sure you spelled the title correctly. If you did, then we probably don't have that journal in our collection and you will need to request the article through interlibrary loan.
  3. If we do have the journal, it will show up as either a print volume, an electronic volume (which will say [electronic resource] after the title) or both. You'll need to click on the linked title to see what our coverage is in each format.
    • If the journal is in print, it will show you the call number and location under Location and will show what years the library has under Library has.
    • If the journal is available online, it will show you what database or databases hold the journal and what years are available electronically. You can then click on the title of the database to get to the online journal and then browse by date or search by title (depending on the database) for your article.

Interlibrary Loan When We Don't Have It

If we don't have a journal article you need for your research in our collection, we can get it for you! Just request it through Interlibrary Loan. Please note: it can take up to a week or more to secure an article from another library.