Chemistry: Find Articles
Core Online Library Resources
These are likely to be the best online sources in which to start your research for journal articles
- SciFinderMaintains citations and abstracts of chemistry and chemical engineering literature. Access limited to current PSU students, faculty, and staff. Sign up with a PSU email address and receive a confirmation email before accessing SciFinder. Chrome recommended. Create your account
- ACS Web EditionsACS web editions is an online database that contains the 5 most current year of content of ACS publications.
- ScienceDirectIncludes full text of articles published in Elsevier journals covering agriculture, humanities, genetics, biology, business, accounting, chemistry, engineering, computer sciences, earth and planetary sciences, economics, materials science, medicine, neuroscience, physics, psychology, and other social sciences. Also includes access to selected 2006 imprints of Elsevier ebooks.
Multidisciplinary Resources
- Web of ScienceMaintains citation searching for high impact research journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences and includes emerging sources citation indexing from 2005.
- Google Scholar
This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches the academic, scholarly Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Searching Google Scholar from the Portland State University Library will identify full text articles available from PSU Library resources as well as open access articles from other universities and colleges.
Related Resources
- Compendex (Historical)Historical access to citations and abstracts for engineering and the applied sciences from 1884-1969.
- National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
- This link opens in a new window
Index to technical publications from the U.S. government. Includes full text for reports from 1995 and select full text for earlier publications. - PubMed (Interface for MEDLINE)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts for journal articles in all areas of medical practice and research from 1953 to the present.
Dissertations/Theses
- Dissertations and Masters Theses Global (ProQuest)Maintains citations, abstracts, and full text of dissertations from 1997 to the present along with citations and abstracts for selected masters theses from 1962 to the present. Includes subject, title, and author indexing to U.S. dissertations from 1861 to the present.
- PDXScholarPortland State University's Digital Repository, PDXScholar, preserves the University's research, unique resources, and other scholarly output with the goal of providing persistent, access to that work.
Find it @ PSU
If the article you have found in a database doesn't have the full-text right there, click on the 
button to see if the article is available in full-text in another database. If we do have it, it will take you to a page that shows you where it's available (if you see a Download Article link, you can click to access the electronic copy).
Journal Title Search
Find a Specific Article
If you have an article citation, see whether or not the PSU Library holds the full text or print article:
1. Use Google Scholar from the PSU Library web site, enter the title of the article in the search box.
2. If the article is available in full text or print, click on Find it @ PSU.
3. The Download Article link provides the full text article, the journal level for it, or the call number for the article in print.
If PSU Library does not have the article in full text or in print, order the article from Interlibrary Loan & Article Delivery.
Requesting Books & Articles
While the Portland State Library has a large collection of books, articles, and journals, we may not have a specific item you are looking for. In that case, you may be able to get it for you from another library.
- If you find an item in the catalog and our copy is not available you can Request from other libraries
